Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
PeterGo
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 12, 2020 11:42 am
Full Name: Peter Golian
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by PeterGo »

Hi wishr,

all servers are updated, no pending updates, host and VMs rebooted many times. Rescan is always sucessfull, but after recieved error is always marked as Unavailable.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Posts: 27183
Liked: 2739 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by Vitaliy S. »

If the solutions mentioned in this thread do not help, then the only way to resolve it is to work with our support team (they might find some time for Community Editon).
ale.com
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2016 9:59 am
Full Name: Alessio Comai
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by ale.com » 1 person likes this post

For future reference: I got this error after upgrading to v10.0.1.4854 from 9.5.4.2866
I uninstalled transport and Hyper-V integration. When I checked in "properties" of HV server, Veeam says that Transport is already installed.
So I run veeamtransport.msi from C:\Program Files\Veeam\Backup and Replication\Backup\Packages, it installed without errors but still no luck
I re-run veeamtransport.msi choosing "repair".
It worked.
Simphiwe.Mkhize
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jul 10, 2019 9:28 am
Full Name: Simphiwe Mkhize
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by Simphiwe.Mkhize » 1 person likes this post

Thanks, rebooting those 2 services also resolved my issue as well.
rozza6
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2018 7:12 pm
Full Name: Paul Rowling
Contact:

[MERGED] Error: On-host proxy [x.x.x.x] requires upgrade before it can be used.

Post by rozza6 »

Hi All,

My backups are failing on a Hyper-V Host with the error "Error: On-host proxy [x.x.x.x] requires upgrade before it can be used." I'm running the latest version of Veeam Backup & Replication Community Edition (10.0.1.4854). If I go to upgrade the Upgrade button is greyed out so I am unable to do so. All Veeam services are running, the Host OS is bang up to date from a Windows Update perspective. I don't know what else to check or what is preventing me from updating components?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Many Thanks

Paul
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14408
Liked: 2910 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
as you run community edition, the highest chance is to try out what other people already did. I merged your question with the existing thread.

Best regards,
Hannes
rozza6
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Sep 17, 2018 7:12 pm
Full Name: Paul Rowling
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by rozza6 »

Thanks Hannes,

I ended up uninstalling the application and reinstalling and this is now working 👍
NobbyausHB
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 16, 2021 5:47 am
Full Name: Norbert Klenner
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by NobbyausHB »

Hi @all,
I run today in the same issue, but for me reinstalling did not work

But to be fair, the Hyper-V-Host is moved from workgroup to domain member server.
Double-checkt the right, all seems fine for me, the backup-account is also local admin at the (single) host
Query and volume check works, but no backup
It was working before the host was domain-member
So I´m running out of ideas..

Thx for reading,
Norbert :)
Egor Yakovlev
Product Manager
Posts: 2546
Liked: 687 times
Joined: Jun 14, 2013 9:30 am
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

For all technical issues, Support Team is there to help.
Feel free to open a ticket and troubleshoot the case with engineers.

/Thanks!
robertoszym
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 03, 2019 9:26 am
Full Name: Robert Szymański
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by robertoszym »

LOL, Gents....
The problem is still there. I'm using V11.0.0.837 and I had the same error. After reboot of backup server all started to work again. From enterprise app I'm expecting more ;)
wishr
Veteran
Posts: 3077
Liked: 453 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by wishr »

Hi Robert,

Please, report any technical issues to our technical support team, so we could properly investigate them and fix.

Thank you.
RWeiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Nov 13, 2014 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by RWeiss » 1 person likes this post

I wanted to add my experience with this error to this thread, maybe it helps if someone stumbles upon this thread when googling for the error.
The problem occured for a similar reasons as for others: we initially added one of the hosts using its IP and later added it again using its name. As some older (tape-) jobs were still linked to the entry with the IP, we could not delete it for a long time. As we were able to clean up the tape jobs recently, we were finally able to remove the outdated entry. After that, the described error appeared. What we did was the following:

- Uninstall all Veeam components on the Hyper-V host (Hyper-V, Transport, Installer)
- Go to the host properties in Veeam and go through the dialog to scan again for the missing components and reinstall them
- Stop Veeam Backup Service and Broker Service and start them again on the backup server

We initially did not perform the last step and still received the error - it's important to restart the services (or restart the whole backup server) after reinstalling the components
FReichelt
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 16, 2020 3:38 pm
Full Name: Florian Reichelt
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by FReichelt »

Hello together,

I have had the same error in our Veeam environment.
all previous attempts have unfortunately brought nothing.

I have deleted all Veeam installations on the Hyper-V host itself and also the folders under:
C:\ProgramData\Veeam\Backup

Only restarting the Veeam services in the form of restarting the VBR server then made the job run successfully.

Kind regards
FReichelt
info@awacomng.com
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Feb 28, 2019 2:52 pm
Full Name: Emmanuel Ojo
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by info@awacomng.com »

Manually restart the following services on the Veeam Server did the job.

Stop and start of "Veeam Backup Service"
Start and stop of "Veeam Broker Service"
Thereafter the backup could be made with no errors.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Binje07 and 24 guests