Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
jamie2497
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 9:10 am
Full Name: Jamie
Contact:

On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by jamie2497 » Feb 11, 2016 9:40 am

Hi All,

I've recently upgraded to Veeam 9 and am getting the following error for Virtual machines located on HV1 "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [HV1] requires upgrade before it can be used" I have tried removing the server from VEEAM, uninstalling all veeam transport service etc and re adding so it re installs, restarting the server and the veeam server but still having the same issue.

ID - 01695454

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16932
Liked: 1377 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by foggy » Feb 11, 2016 9:52 am

Hi Jamie, if you locate this host under Backup Infrastructure node, does it have an Upgrade (or something else in bold) status? Basically, if re-installing components does not help, deeper logs investigation is required.

jamie2497
Novice
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 11, 2016 9:10 am
Full Name: Jamie
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by jamie2497 » Feb 11, 2016 9:55 am

Hi Foggy,

No the upgrade isn't in bold like I would usually see if some components need upgrading. I've verified that all the services are installed and even manually moved the msi across and installed that way just to confirm it was all correct. VEEAM can read the drives etc it just fails on every VM at that point.

Thanks

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21617
Liked: 1290 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 11, 2016 10:01 am

Most likely there are some remnants in the registry or in the configuration database, let's wait for a remote WebEx session from our engineer.

nefes
Veeam Software
Posts: 596
Liked: 144 times
Joined: Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by nefes » Feb 11, 2016 10:10 am

Any chance that you have other component on this host, for example, WAN accelerator, and it is not upgraded?

DDIT
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by DDIT » Feb 26, 2016 9:58 am

I have exactly the same problem, although my setup is really fresh:

I am trialing Veeam and started with a fresh install of version 9 (9.0.0.902), on WS2008R2. My host is a fresh install of full GUI, WS2012R2 with Hyper-V. I have a single VM guest, which is also 2012R2. I added the host to the Veeam Console successfully and noticed 3 components installed on my host (Veeam Backup Transport, Veeam Hyper-V Integration, Veeam Installer Service - all 9.0.0.902).

When I created my first job, I added my host and left all other settings as default. When I run the job it fails with error "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [VHOST1] requires upgrade before it can be used."

When I look back at the 'Backup Infrastructure' tab, I see my host has been moved to Managed Servers > Microsoft Hyper-V > Unavailable. If I right-click this host the 'upgrade' option is greyed out.

I have an open support case #01709332. The engineer has already asked me to manually uninstall the components, remove the host, re-add the host, reinstall the components, but this did not fix the issue. I have also been advised to install the recommended hotfixes here https://www.veeam.com/kb1838, but only one fix would install (KB3072380) - the others say "not applicable to your computer" when attempting to install - I guess that's because they relate to clustering, which is not what I'm using in my simple setup.

PS: I have a 'standard' trial license, so don't have ability to use WAN acceleration.

Any help advice greatly appreciated as this is eating into my license time.

DDIT
Enthusiast
Posts: 62
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by DDIT » Feb 26, 2016 11:05 am 2 people like this post

This was resolved by Ivan in tech support. The issues was related to the fact my fresh WS2012 server was previously used by Veeam under a different name but still existed in the Veeam Console. As I side note, I couldn't delete the reference to the old machine as it said it was still in use by a backup job, which was not the case. However, by removing the job and clicking "remove from configuration" from the Backups list, Ivan could then delete the old server.

He then removed and readded the new server, making sure the components removed and readded successfully then ran a job to prove it worked.

Thanks Ivan. Two issues solved in one call!

jbarrere
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2017 4:00 am
Full Name: Josh Barrere
Contact:

[MERGED] Moving from a proxy to stand alone Veeam free edit

Post by jbarrere » Sep 30, 2017 4:10 am

We were previously using a Hyper V host at a remote site as a "on-host proxy" that would handle backing up VMs to itself and managed it from our Veeam server. We've decided to reuse that license for another server and wanted to change this host as a standalone Veeam installation using the free edition license. The problem is that when I try to run a Veeam ZIP job, it fails saying "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [hostname.here] requires upgrade before it can be used."

I've removed all of the components, uninstalled everything Veeam related, removed it from the infrastructure on our Veeam server and completely reinstalled Veeam, but it still has this message. Is there something I need to clear out of the registry or something to get it to work?

I be grateful for any suggestions!

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6028
Liked: 522 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by Shestakov » Sep 30, 2017 9:02 pm

Hello Josh and welcome to the community!
Most likely some components or job references are left from previous installations.
If you cannot find it, please contact Veeam support team.
Thanks!

jbarrere
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 30, 2017 4:00 am
Full Name: Josh Barrere
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by jbarrere » Oct 03, 2017 6:13 pm 1 person likes this post

For those that come looking for answers later, I managed to fix this by clearing out the Veeam folder in C:\ApplicationData before reinstalling.

kizmetblue
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 05, 2017 4:02 am
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by kizmetblue » Dec 05, 2017 4:05 am

I was just able to fix this issue by removing all servers from the backup job that was failing and re-adding them without every having to close the job first.

vClintWyckoff
Expert
Posts: 500
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Oct 27, 2012 1:22 am
Full Name: Clint Wyckoff
Location: Technical Evangelist
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by vClintWyckoff » Dec 05, 2017 6:21 pm

Thanks for sharing and welcome to the community.

reaperhammer
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 18, 2016 7:59 pm
Full Name: Will S
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by reaperhammer » Jan 24, 2018 9:36 pm 1 person likes this post

For me on 9.5 update 2 restarting Veeam services resolved the issue as well as another issue where some particular VM's were getting stuck on Updating auxiliary data backup_doc & Updating auxiliary data writer_doc

MagicPeter
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Aug 16, 2018 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Post by MagicPeter » Aug 16, 2018 9:44 am 1 person likes this post

The problem could be solved by Veeam Support.
There were two new services:
VeeamBrokerSvc
VeeamBackupSvc
restarted after that the error did not occur anymore.
The backup is now ringing at 412 MB / second

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests