On-host proxy requires upgrade

Discussions specific to Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor

On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby jamie2497 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:40 am

Hi All,

I've recently upgraded to Veeam 9 and am getting the following error for Virtual machines located on HV1 "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [HV1] requires upgrade before it can be used" I have tried removing the server from VEEAM, uninstalling all veeam transport service etc and re adding so it re installs, restarting the server and the veeam server but still having the same issue.

ID - 01695454

Thanks
jamie2497
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:10 am
Full Name: Jamie

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:52 am

Hi Jamie, if you locate this host under Backup Infrastructure node, does it have an Upgrade (or something else in bold) status? Basically, if re-installing components does not help, deeper logs investigation is required.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 15623
Liked: 1164 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby jamie2497 » Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:55 am

Hi Foggy,

No the upgrade isn't in bold like I would usually see if some components need upgrading. I've verified that all the services are installed and even manually moved the msi across and installed that way just to confirm it was all correct. VEEAM can read the drives etc it just fails on every VM at that point.

Thanks
jamie2497
Novice
 
Posts: 9
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:10 am
Full Name: Jamie

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:01 am

Most likely there are some remnants in the registry or in the configuration database, let's wait for a remote WebEx session from our engineer.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 20363
Liked: 1179 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby nefes » Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:10 am

Any chance that you have other component on this host, for example, WAN accelerator, and it is not upgraded?
nefes
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 560
Liked: 131 times
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am
Full Name: Nikita Efes

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:58 am

I have exactly the same problem, although my setup is really fresh:

I am trialing Veeam and started with a fresh install of version 9 (9.0.0.902), on WS2008R2. My host is a fresh install of full GUI, WS2012R2 with Hyper-V. I have a single VM guest, which is also 2012R2. I added the host to the Veeam Console successfully and noticed 3 components installed on my host (Veeam Backup Transport, Veeam Hyper-V Integration, Veeam Installer Service - all 9.0.0.902).

When I created my first job, I added my host and left all other settings as default. When I run the job it fails with error "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [VHOST1] requires upgrade before it can be used."

When I look back at the 'Backup Infrastructure' tab, I see my host has been moved to Managed Servers > Microsoft Hyper-V > Unavailable. If I right-click this host the 'upgrade' option is greyed out.

I have an open support case #01709332. The engineer has already asked me to manually uninstall the components, remove the host, re-add the host, reinstall the components, but this did not fix the issue. I have also been advised to install the recommended hotfixes here https://www.veeam.com/kb1838, but only one fix would install (KB3072380) - the others say "not applicable to your computer" when attempting to install - I guess that's because they relate to clustering, which is not what I'm using in my simple setup.

PS: I have a 'standard' trial license, so don't have ability to use WAN acceleration.

Any help advice greatly appreciated as this is eating into my license time.
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby DDIT » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:05 am 2 people like this post

This was resolved by Ivan in tech support. The issues was related to the fact my fresh WS2012 server was previously used by Veeam under a different name but still existed in the Veeam Console. As I side note, I couldn't delete the reference to the old machine as it said it was still in use by a backup job, which was not the case. However, by removing the job and clicking "remove from configuration" from the Backups list, Ivan could then delete the old server.

He then removed and readded the new server, making sure the components removed and readded successfully then ran a job to prove it worked.

Thanks Ivan. Two issues solved in one call!
DDIT
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 29
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:58 pm
Full Name: Michael Yorke

[MERGED] Moving from a proxy to stand alone Veeam free edit

Veeam Logoby jbarrere » Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:10 am

We were previously using a Hyper V host at a remote site as a "on-host proxy" that would handle backing up VMs to itself and managed it from our Veeam server. We've decided to reuse that license for another server and wanted to change this host as a standalone Veeam installation using the free edition license. The problem is that when I try to run a Veeam ZIP job, it fails saying "Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: On-host proxy [hostname.here] requires upgrade before it can be used."

I've removed all of the components, uninstalled everything Veeam related, removed it from the infrastructure on our Veeam server and completely reinstalled Veeam, but it still has this message. Is there something I need to clear out of the registry or something to get it to work?

I be grateful for any suggestions!
jbarrere
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:00 am
Full Name: Josh Barrere

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:02 pm

Hello Josh and welcome to the community!
Most likely some components or job references are left from previous installations.
If you cannot find it, please contact Veeam support team.
Thanks!
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 5403
Liked: 444 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby jbarrere » Tue Oct 03, 2017 6:13 pm 1 person likes this post

For those that come looking for answers later, I managed to fix this by clearing out the Veeam folder in C:\ApplicationData before reinstalling.
jbarrere
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:00 am
Full Name: Josh Barrere

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby kizmetblue » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:05 am

I was just able to fix this issue by removing all servers from the backup job that was failing and re-adding them without every having to close the job first.
kizmetblue
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:02 am

Re: On-host proxy requires upgrade

Veeam Logoby vClintWyckoff » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:21 pm

Thanks for sharing and welcome to the community.
vClintWyckoff
Expert
 
Posts: 500
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:22 am
Location: Technical Evangelist
Full Name: Clint Wyckoff


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest