Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Hyper-V specific discussions

Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Veeam Logoby Brendan_CSEL » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:45 pm

Hi folks. I've probably missed this in the documentation somewhere.

What is the procedure to temporarily "failover" a group of VMs to a backup host - with zero data loss - so that the main host can get some maintenance?

The standard failover process seems to revert to the time of the last replication event. For zero data-loss I am guessing I should...
- shut down the VM(s)
- run the replication job one more time
- failover and start up the replica(s)
- do host maintenance
- shut down replica
- replicate back?
- failback and spin up original VMs?

Does that sound right?
Brendan_CSEL
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:05 pm
Full Name: Brendan O'Reilly

Re: Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:47 am

Hi Brendan,

Everything is correct, but for one thing - no need to shutdown and replicate VM replica back. This will be done for you automatically after initiating a replica failover operation (see our User Guide, page 57):

- shut down the VM(s)
- run the replication job one more time
- failover and start up the replica(s)
- do host maintenance
- failback and spin up original VMs

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Veeam Logoby Brendan_CSEL » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:00 am

Excellent thank you.
Brendan_CSEL
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:05 pm
Full Name: Brendan O'Reilly

Re: Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Veeam Logoby Brendan_CSEL » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:52 pm

Hmmm, how about if my planned failover includes the VM that has all of the Veeam components installed and another is the SQL Server (containing the Veeam database)?

If I shut down either the "Veeam" VM or the SQL Server, how do I run the final "pre-failover" replication and then the failover/failback operations on those VMs?

I assume I'll need to install Veeam (or some components) elsewhere? The client only has the two Hyper-V hosts that are vaguely modern. They do have a couple of old (10+ years) servers sitting in a corner if required.

Any advice for a configuration/process to do a (temporary) planned failover of all VMs from one host to another (including Veeam and SQL) is greatly appreciated.
Brendan_CSEL
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:05 pm
Full Name: Brendan O'Reilly

Re: Planned failover zero data loss (eg host maintenance)

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:16 pm

In this situation you need to install Veeam backup server elsewhere.

Your best bet would be to either use Veeam backup server import/export configuration functionality (see our User Guide, page 219) or migrate existing Veeam SQL database to the old server and re-use this database with a new Veeam backup server installation (search these forums for detailed procedure to follow).

Once your planned maintenance/failover is complete, you need to revert all these changes back to your initial configuration. Hope this helps!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests