Restore VhD with different name

Hyper-V specific discussions

Restore VhD with different name

Veeam Logoby ovz » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:06 pm

Hi,

A small yet useful feature of Veeam Backup and Restore would be to restore a VhD from backup under a different name. None of the wizards offer me to change name of my VhD so I have to restore it to a temporary directory and do the rename. If I want to restore a clone of a running virtual machine I have to change VhD path too, which is not very convenient.
ovz
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 7:57 pm
Full Name: Oleg

Re: Restore VhD with different name

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:05 pm

Hello Oleg,

Thanks for the feedback, but can you please elaborate a bit more on why do you need to rename your VHDs on a restore operation?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19575
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Restore VhD with different name

Veeam Logoby jayk » Mon Aug 24, 2015 8:40 pm

Reviving old thread here. Is this possible? I am trying to clone a VM using Veeam. I'm worried about what might happen if I restore the VM to the original location as I dont wan't the original production VM to be affected in any way. I just want to clone this VM and run a second copy.
jayk
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:03 pm
Full Name: Jay Kirsten

Re: Restore VhD with different name

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:52 am

Then, just select "Restore to a new location" option during restore procedure. Also, generate a new VM name, along with, UUID. Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13296
Liked: 973 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests