Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
berlie
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 12:14 pm
Full Name: grant
Contact:

Slow backup

Post by berlie » Feb 16, 2017 12:30 pm

Good day

We have 2 core servers, When you run backups from the server veeam is installed on its fast but when you run backup from the other core its extremely slow.
We are using a SAN.

Any ideas

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1748
Liked: 222 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by DGrinev » Feb 16, 2017 1:10 pm

Hi Grant,

Can you please tell us your bottleneck stats for both job runs? Also, provide a brief description of the backup infrastructure. If I get it right, you are using Direct SAN Access mode?

Thanks!

berlie
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 12:14 pm
Full Name: grant
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by berlie » Feb 20, 2017 8:45 am

Hi we have 2 windows 2012 servers and we are running 2 vms on both of them. If we do backup on first server then it runs at 60mb/s. But on second machine its 2mb/s.

If you move the vm to the fist machine from second it backups at 60 move it back to second 2. The 2 servers is exactly the same the only difference is that first one is connected to the backup device with scsi cable. Bottleneck is source.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by foggy » Feb 20, 2017 10:59 am

Does the slower job also report bottleneck as source?

berlie
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 12:14 pm
Full Name: grant
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by berlie » Feb 20, 2017 11:13 am

Yes . So basically when you run a backup from the server locally or from a vm on the server its slow. But if you do it on the other server its fast.

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by Delo123 » Feb 20, 2017 11:48 am

Probably your second host is swithing to NBD (network backup mode) and using some slow link. Maybe you can Hot-add (it would use your veeam server as proxy).
Maybe read this first: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/ ... iance.html and have a look what the job stats are telling you on the right side.

berlie
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 12:14 pm
Full Name: grant
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by berlie » Feb 21, 2017 7:17 am

Now both is slow again

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by Delo123 » Feb 21, 2017 8:11 am

Could you post a screenjob/info of the job actions gui? things like:
- which proxy is being used (is this the right machine? It should be the one with the "best" connections to source and destination)
- which transport method is being used? like [NDB] or [SAN Direct]
- is CBT being used? (you should be able to read this next to the disk read speeds)
- Bottleneck stats: It will say Busy: Source,Proxy, Network, Target. How are these values?

Probably a shot in the dark, but could it be you have tried to configure jumbo frames? Not doing this everywhere can lead to very strange results / performance

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18291
Liked: 1568 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by foggy » Feb 22, 2017 4:15 pm 1 person likes this post

(Guido, this is Hyper-V, if I'm getting the OP right.)

Try to copy some large file to the same target server from both hosts and compare performance.

mpark
Enthusiast
Posts: 26
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jan 20, 2016 4:43 am
Full Name: Min Park
Contact:

Re: Slow backup

Post by mpark » Feb 27, 2017 4:57 pm

Try file copy to both hosts as foggy's suggestion above. Feels like either of the following scenario seems applicable:
1. Assuming you are using a gigabit connection on the first host, your connection from the second host (slow one) to the SAN may not be using gigabit connection, rather 100mbit. Depending on the switch you have you may want to review your port settings.

2. Host 2 has more than one network connection connected and Veeam is using the slower connection somehow. If this is the case, try setting the throttling to only allow connection from the larger pipe connection from the second host.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests