Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
RGijsen
Enthusiast
Posts: 92
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Oct 10, 2014 2:06 pm
Contact:

Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM is registered after moving subnet

Post by RGijsen » Oct 22, 2018 8:47 am

Hi,
as I'm not sure if I've had enough coffee, I'd like to consult here before opening a ticket. Yesterday we had planned maintenance, and one of the things done was to move the Management OS interfaces of all our Hyper-V hosts to our management VLAN. Until now they were in the VLAN were (most) of our VM's actually belong. The Veeam server was still in that production LAN, as that's were the hosts reside, and therefore no need to route all traffic through the firewalls (offhost never worked well for us). I opened ALL protocols (UDP, TCP, ICMP and all others) from the Veeam server to the Hyper-V hosts, and vice versa. I know about the firewall requirements, but for now I just allowed all.

Still, I now got messages like:

22-10-2018 06:22:14 :: Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM '<VM GUIS>' is registered

However, in the job themselves, I could see the VM's just fine, application aware tests worked fine, the hosts themselves were accessible and 'rescannable' without issues, repositories were available. I just could not find any communications issue, as, well everything was opened up.
In the end I ended up moving the Veeam host to the management VLAN as well, which was an open point anyway now the Hyper-V hosts had moved, and after that everything works as expected again. However, I still wonder why I was getting these issues. Anyone with some insights?

Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Posts: 5888
Liked: 647 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM is registered after moving subnet

Post by Mike Resseler » Oct 23, 2018 5:10 am

What I am assuming here is that (I can't give a reason at this moment, maybe I also need coffee ;-)) the Veeam server needs to use the specific VLAN to query the GUIDs. I am assuming this was at the start of a job?

jmustonen
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 10, 2018 6:11 am
Full Name: Janne Mustonen
Contact:

Re: Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM is registered after moving subnet

Post by jmustonen » Nov 30, 2018 6:27 am

I had this same "Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM '<VM GUIS>' is registered" after I did change IP-addresses for the hosts in Hyper-V clusters. All tests passed just fine, but jobs were not able to backup vm's.

The fix was easy, I just had to reboot the Veeam-server. I think it may have been sufficient just to restart Veeam services, but I did install Windows Updates, so reboot was necessary anyways.

I believe that Veeam has some sort of cache of the Hyper-V Hosts and VM's, and this gets cleared on service/server restart. But I'm only guessing here..

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18560
Liked: 1607 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to find Hyper-V hosts where VM is registered after moving subnet

Post by foggy » Nov 30, 2018 5:23 pm

Yes, most likely infrastructure rescan (happened automatically every few hours or triggered manually) would have also helped in this case.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests