Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
hauer@sysdat.at
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 19, 2018 4:05 pm
Full Name: Wolfgang Hauer
Contact:

Upgrade VM Configuration Version on replication Hyper-v

Post by hauer@sysdat.at » Apr 19, 2018 4:08 pm

Initial config:

2 Hyper-v Host with server 2012 one of them for replication

Then 2 new hosts with server 2016

Alle vm's moved to the new boxes. Create the replication job and all workes well without cbt because the VM's are on Version 5

Then changed the version on the primary box to version 8.

All works well but

If i look at the replication server the vm-version is still 5.

Should Veeam not update the configuration? Or should i? or should i recreate the replica?

Thanks Wolfgang

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17097
Liked: 1397 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrade VM Configuration Version on replication Hyper-v

Post by foggy » Apr 20, 2018 4:00 pm

Hi Wolfgang, HW version is not automatically updated on target. You can try to do it manually, should work.

hauer@sysdat.at
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 19, 2018 4:05 pm
Full Name: Wolfgang Hauer
Contact:

Re: Upgrade VM Configuration Version on replication Hyper-v

Post by hauer@sysdat.at » Apr 20, 2018 4:17 pm

thanks, i will try

Wolfgang

Blue407
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 12, 2016 2:14 pm
Full Name: Paul Thomas
Contact:

[MERGED] Server 2016 replicating to 2016, replica has old co

Post by Blue407 » Sep 06, 2018 7:59 am

Morning all

I have a hyper-v cluster running server 2016, each blade was individual rebuilt, one at a time until they were all done and then the cluster version was updated.

My B&R server is also a hyper-v host, containing a replica of the live VM's from the cluster, these were created and maintained by Veeam Replication. This server was in-place upgraded from 2012 R2 to 2016.
I have an additional off-site backup server, with its on repository and also another Replica of the cluster VM's, this was built natively with server 2016.

After I upgraded the cluster, I stopped each VM and upgraded its integration services to the latest one. On all Hyper-V hosts, each VM is shown as Configuration Version 8.0

I noticed a couple of days ago the the Replica VM's on my 2016 B&R server are still at Configuration Version 5.0. In my head, each Replica VM is kept up to date with changes from the original source VM, so I would have expected the configuration version to also replicate.
I double checked the off-site server and this also shows v5.0

Is this expected behavior, a bug?

I'm guessing as the replica VM's are stopped, I could upgrade their Configuration Version, but should I have to?

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 5000
Liked: 530 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Server 2016 replicating to 2016, replica has old config

Post by Mike Resseler » Sep 11, 2018 8:57 am 1 person likes this post

Paul,

Sorry for my late answer. I am not 100 percent sure, but I would believe it is expected behavior (to make sure you can do rollbacks to another version in case of a cluster rolling upgrade). I will check with some people and try to get back to you with the correct answer

Thanks
Mike

Blue407
Enthusiast
Posts: 67
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Apr 12, 2016 2:14 pm
Full Name: Paul Thomas
Contact:

Re: Server 2016 replicating to 2016, replica has old config

Post by Blue407 » Sep 11, 2018 9:02 am

If that is the case, at what point would it replicate the latest version?

And, would the only way to update it be to delete the Replica and do a new replication so that all settings are replicated from scratch?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17097
Liked: 1397 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrade VM Configuration Version on replication Hyper-v

Post by foggy » Sep 11, 2018 10:53 am

Hi Paul, yes, this is expected behavior. No need to delete replica, you can just change its configuration version manually.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 7 guests