Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Veeam Logoby jfried81 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:32 pm

Hi,

I want to combine Hyper V replica and Veeam Backup. Is it possible to do the backup on the replicated site (and not on the production site)? How has this to be configured?

Thanks,
J
jfried81
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:24 pm

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Veeam Logoby vmniels » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:47 pm 1 person likes this post

You can add the Hyper-v host with the replica's on into Veeam Backup & Replication. Afterwards you can create a backup job which will backup these replicas.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be
vmniels
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 1582
Liked: 348 times
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Veeam Logoby nathan.mcclintock » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:08 am 1 person likes this post

And I note if you fail over the Hyper-V Veeam just keeps on working backing up either the actual of replicated version of the VM on the host. Nice!
nathan.mcclintock
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 8:26 pm
Full Name: Nathan McClintock

[MERGED] Backup from Hyper-V Replica

Veeam Logoby sarapinho » Tue Jul 04, 2017 7:00 pm

Hi there,

We have 2 sites using Hyper-V 2012 and we are using Hyper-V Replica feature, to replicate VMs from the production site to DR.

At the moment, we would like to license only the DR site with Veeam and backup from the Hyper-V Replica VMs, because of higher costs in the production site (like more licenses, new storage, etc…)

In VMware we need to disable CBT and incremental backups take a longer time to finish, but what about Hyper-V? We have the same problem or any other observation?

Thank you.
Amauri Ramos
sarapinho
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:40 pm

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Veeam Logoby PTide » Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:23 pm

Hi Sarapinho,

That will work, and we haven't received any reports regarding problems as of yet.

Thanks
PTide
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 3134
Liked: 262 times
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:46 pm

[MERGED] Architecture Help - Backing up from Replicants

Veeam Logoby Craysus » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:51 am

Hi all,
We have a simple 2 x server workplace.

Server 1 - Windows Datacentre 2016 - Approx 20 x hosts running on MS Hypervisor.
Hardware - 2 x 20core CPU's, 384GB ram, 4TB SSD, 6 TB SAS.

Server 2 - Windows Datacentre 2016, Approx 3 x live Hosts (DC2 / Veeam / WSUS) running on MS Hypervisor.
Hardware - 2 x 6 Core CPU's, 384GB ram, 4TB SAS, 8 TB SATA. - + 4 x External 2TB USB Drives

Network - Server 1 and 2 are in seperate buildings connected via a 1GB Fibre link, link is somewhat contended during the day, but clear overnight.

Currently we have configured Veeam B&R for replication from the primary server to the secondary server. We have 2 x pools for the replication (Critical and Lower Priority)
Critical is replicated every 2 hours from the SSD to the SAS primarily, with 7 days worth of replicants.
Lower Priority is replicated every Day from mainly the SAS to the SATA.

We currently have a weekly backup job running from Server 1, to the USB devices attached on Server 2..

I am looking to backup from the replicants on server 2, instead of creating new backups from the primary server. This will hopefully avoid the backup slowing the primary server, and will reduce the effects across the fibre link. Obviously the USB external drives are a bottleneck as well, so the backups run for an extended period..


Can we backup from the latest replicants? (Reverse archival from the replicants effectively?) How would we configure this?

Thoughts and suggestions greatly appreciated.
Craysus
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:41 am
Full Name: Sandy

[MERGED] It it okay to backup Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?

Veeam Logoby stimike » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:44 pm

In this scenario:

  • Production Server
  • Secondary Server (stores Hyper-V Replicas)

Are there any negatives to backing up the Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?
stimike
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 8:36 pm
Full Name: Mike Schmidt

Re: It it okay to backup Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Mon Oct 16, 2017 5:02 pm

Hi Mike,

Yes, you can do that, just don't overlap replication with the backup job.
Can you clarify the purpose of the scenario, what are you trying to achieve? Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 524
Liked: 61 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests