Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
jfried81
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 03, 2017 6:24 pm
Contact:

Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by jfried81 » Apr 03, 2017 6:32 pm

Hi,

I want to combine Hyper V replica and Veeam Backup. Is it possible to do the backup on the replicated site (and not on the production site)? How has this to be configured?

Thanks,
J

nielsengelen
Veeam Software
Posts: 3139
Liked: 638 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by nielsengelen » Apr 03, 2017 7:47 pm 1 person likes this post

You can add the Hyper-v host with the replica's on into Veeam Backup & Replication. Afterwards you can create a backup job which will backup these replicas.
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

nathan.mcclintock
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 07, 2016 8:26 pm
Full Name: Nathan McClintock
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by nathan.mcclintock » Apr 26, 2017 2:08 am 1 person likes this post

And I note if you fail over the Hyper-V Veeam just keeps on working backing up either the actual of replicated version of the VM on the host. Nice!

sarapinho
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 10, 2015 12:40 pm
Full Name: Amauri Ramos
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup from Hyper-V Replica

Post by sarapinho » Jul 04, 2017 7:00 pm

Hi there,

We have 2 sites using Hyper-V 2012 and we are using Hyper-V Replica feature, to replicate VMs from the production site to DR.

At the moment, we would like to license only the DR site with Veeam and backup from the Hyper-V Replica VMs, because of higher costs in the production site (like more licenses, new storage, etc…)

In VMware we need to disable CBT and incremental backups take a longer time to finish, but what about Hyper-V? We have the same problem or any other observation?

Thank you.
Amauri Ramos

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5465
Liked: 498 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by PTide » Jul 04, 2017 9:23 pm

Hi Sarapinho,

That will work, and we haven't received any reports regarding problems as of yet.

Thanks

Craysus
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 16, 2017 12:41 am
Full Name: Sandy
Contact:

[MERGED] Architecture Help - Backing up from Replicants

Post by Craysus » Oct 16, 2017 12:51 am

Hi all,
We have a simple 2 x server workplace.

Server 1 - Windows Datacentre 2016 - Approx 20 x hosts running on MS Hypervisor.
Hardware - 2 x 20core CPU's, 384GB ram, 4TB SSD, 6 TB SAS.

Server 2 - Windows Datacentre 2016, Approx 3 x live Hosts (DC2 / Veeam / WSUS) running on MS Hypervisor.
Hardware - 2 x 6 Core CPU's, 384GB ram, 4TB SAS, 8 TB SATA. - + 4 x External 2TB USB Drives

Network - Server 1 and 2 are in seperate buildings connected via a 1GB Fibre link, link is somewhat contended during the day, but clear overnight.

Currently we have configured Veeam B&R for replication from the primary server to the secondary server. We have 2 x pools for the replication (Critical and Lower Priority)
Critical is replicated every 2 hours from the SSD to the SAS primarily, with 7 days worth of replicants.
Lower Priority is replicated every Day from mainly the SAS to the SATA.

We currently have a weekly backup job running from Server 1, to the USB devices attached on Server 2..

I am looking to backup from the replicants on server 2, instead of creating new backups from the primary server. This will hopefully avoid the backup slowing the primary server, and will reduce the effects across the fibre link. Obviously the USB external drives are a bottleneck as well, so the backups run for an extended period..


Can we backup from the latest replicants? (Reverse archival from the replicants effectively?) How would we configure this?

Thoughts and suggestions greatly appreciated.

stimike
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 8:36 pm
Full Name: Mike Schmidt
Contact:

[MERGED] It it okay to backup Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?

Post by stimike » Oct 16, 2017 2:44 pm

In this scenario:
  • Production Server
  • Secondary Server (stores Hyper-V Replicas)
Are there any negatives to backing up the Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: It it okay to backup Hyper-V replicas with Veeam?

Post by DGrinev » Oct 16, 2017 5:02 pm

Hi Mike,

Yes, you can do that, just don't overlap replication with the backup job.
Can you clarify the purpose of the scenario, what are you trying to achieve? Thanks!

stimike
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 20, 2016 8:36 pm
Full Name: Mike Schmidt
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by stimike » Oct 23, 2017 4:32 am

Thanks Dmitry.

In this situation, backups of the replica server are to keep I/O and extra software off the primary production servers.

DGrinev
Expert
Posts: 1943
Liked: 246 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by DGrinev » Oct 23, 2017 10:47 am

Mike,

You're good to go, just keep in mind that it is recommended to keep backups on different types of media according to the 3-2-1 Rule. Thanks!

robheffo79
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2020 12:20 am
Full Name: Robert Heffernan
Contact:

[MERGED] Backup VMs on Hyper-V Replica Target

Post by robheffo79 » Mar 27, 2020 12:55 am

We have a production server that is using Hyper-V Replica to replicate our VMs to a Hot-Spare server every 15mins.
Is it possible for Veeam B&R 10 to do it's backup on these powered-down replica VMs rather than against the running production server?

Thanks,
Robert Heffernan

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 5139
Liked: 681 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by HannesK » Mar 27, 2020 6:43 am

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

please see the answers above.

Best regards,
Hannes

robheffo79
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 23, 2020 12:20 am
Full Name: Robert Heffernan
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by robheffo79 » Mar 30, 2020 3:16 am

Hi Hannes,

Thanks for that. I have read through and am happy it's indeed possible, I do have a query though regarding the following statement.

"Yes, you can do that, just don't overlap replication with the backup job."

Does this mean I need to suspend the replication process in Hyper-V while the backup is in progress?

Regards,
Robert.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 5139
Liked: 681 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup of Hyper V replicas

Post by HannesK » Mar 30, 2020 7:02 am

that's what it means, but I don't have further details on that.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests