Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
Post Reply
oidenburga
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2019 8:57 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by oidenburga »

Hi;

First, english is not my mothers tongue.

I have a big problem with restoring an Active Directory enviroment.

I want to restore two domain-controller, but i get an 0xc00002e2 error at boot.

Each DC has his own Backup-Job with Application-Aware Processing enabled.

I testet different backup points, also the latest FULL Backup.

Why do i get this error?

OS: Server 2012R2
Hypervisor: HYPER-V
Veeam is on latest build

What have i checked?:

Code: Select all

You need to boot the machine in "directory services restore mode", login with the local Administrator and the password you had to set when promoting the DC.
Move all the *.log files inside c:\windows\NTDS\ to a folder elsewhere.
Try to reboot in normal mode.

If it's not working go back in DSRM,
repeat the moving of any log files in c:\windows\NTDS\,
Open up a CMD (with Run as admin),
Enter the command "esentutl /p c:\windows\NTDS\ntds.dit",
Enter the command "ntdsutil",
In the ntdsutil prompt now enter the following commands (no quotes):
"activate instance ntds"
"Files"
"Compact to c:\temp\"
"quit"
"quit"

Now move the c:\windows\NTDS\ntds.dit file to a save folder elsewhere.
Copy the c:\temp\ntds.dit file to c:\windows\NTDS\
Again remove all the .LOG files inside c:\windows\NTDS
Reboot normally.
Best regards
Lukas

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by foggy »

Hi Lukas, have you reviewed the KB article describing domain controller recovery peculiarities in detail?

oidenburga
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2019 8:57 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by oidenburga »

Yes, but at the first boot, a BSOD appears with 0xc00002e2

oidenburga
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2019 8:57 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by oidenburga »

Now the DC runs, i extractet the VHD from the VBK, now it starts.

But why is the backup corrupt?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by foggy »

Make sure you have application-aware image processing enabled in the job settings. For further investigation, please contact our technical support directly.

oidenburga
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2019 8:57 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by oidenburga »

It is active.
Ok.

oidenburga
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 06, 2019 8:57 am
Full Name: Lukas
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by oidenburga »

I only have the community version, so i cant open a case.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19761
Liked: 1823 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam - DCs restore - 0xc00002e2

Post by foggy »

Well, you can but it will be handled on the best effort basis.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests