Veeam HA cluster licensing

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam HA cluster licensing

Veeam Logoby dorseymetrology » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:11 pm

I'm building two node Hyper-V HA cluster, each node with 2 CPU sockets. If I understand licensing correctly, I only need 2 licenses, since only one node is active at a time. What happens when one node goes down and VMs are migrated over to another node, either using Live migration or automatically restarted by second node in the event of unplanned downtime? Are license transferred automatically to a new node and then back to original node when it comes online again?
dorseymetrology
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:22 pm
Full Name: Martin Ozga

Re: Veeam HA cluster licensing

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:35 pm

Hi, usually you need to license all sockets for every Hyper-V you are going to perform backup from. So, if you are planning to perform backups when VMs are running on another host, then you need to have it licensed as well. Technically, you can revoke licenses from the host that is down manually after each failover - in that case, the licenses will be reused for another host when the job runs. But this is something that you would have to be doing manually every time VMs switch the hosts. Thanks.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2350 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests