Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memory?

Hyper-V specific discussions

Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memory?

Veeam Logoby loelly » Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:44 am

So, I've got a Linux virtual machine running on Windows Server Hyper-V 2012 R2 and being replicated to another Server 2012 R2 using Veeam v8. The virtual machine is configured to use dynamic memory. Now I changed the value for maximum memory on the VM from 2 GB to 4 GB and would expect Veeam to detect this change and to configure the replica VM accordingly, but it doesn't, it stays at 2 GB on the destination host.

Is this a known limitation? Any chances this will change in the future?
loelly
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Jens Siegmann

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:08 am

Maik, this is a known issue that will be addressed in the upcoming Veeam B&R v8 Update 2.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby loelly » Fri Jul 17, 2015 1:22 pm

It looks like this has not yet been fixed, am I right?
loelly
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Jens Siegmann

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Fri Jul 17, 2015 2:39 pm

Are saying that you've already updated to Update 2b and the said problem still persists?
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby loelly » Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:16 pm 1 person likes this post

Damn. I just noticed I'm still running Update 1 on that machine. Will let you know on Monday. Thanks!
loelly
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Jens Siegmann

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby loelly » Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:10 pm

So, after upgrading to Update 2b, the job no longer fails but dynamic min and max memory is set to startup memory, which is a bad thing (= bug). Veeam should put the exact same memory options to the replica as the original virtual machine (was so before Update 2b).

EDIT: opened case /w support, ID 00975178.
loelly
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Jens Siegmann

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jul 22, 2015 4:27 pm 1 person likes this post

Maik, this is actually another issue that is scheduled to be addressed in v9. The original issue (not syncing dynamic memory changes) was addressed in Update 2.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam replication not honoring changed dynamic max memor

Veeam Logoby loelly » Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:23 am 1 person likes this post

Thanks for letting me know Alex!
loelly
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 49
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:25 am
Full Name: Jens Siegmann


Return to Microsoft Hyper-V



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests