Discussions specific to the Microsoft Hyper-V hypervisor
bkruczek
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 16, 2015 10:31 am
Full Name: Bernd Kruczek

Windows 10

Post by bkruczek » Aug 03, 2015 9:09 pm

VEEAM Backup and Replication 8.0 has Problems to detect a Windows 10 Hyper-V Host. The Errors are:

failed to create a persistent Connection to ADMIN$ share Folder on host <ip>
failed to install Service [Veeam Deploymnet Service] was not installed on the host [ip]

Installation was without Errors, the credentials for the Hyper V Host are correct.

B.K

alanbolte
Expert
Posts: 635
Liked: 172 times
Joined: Jun 18, 2012 8:58 pm
Full Name: Alan Bolte
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by alanbolte » Aug 03, 2015 10:57 pm

Windows 10 is not supported as a platform for B&R 8.0. That you for letting us know what happens when you try anyway; I'm glad to know that we merely fail to install any services instead of doing something more damaging to the Hyper-V host.

bkruczek
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 16, 2015 10:31 am
Full Name: Bernd Kruczek

Re: Windows 10

Post by bkruczek » Aug 04, 2015 6:45 am

So, when will we have a supported Version?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6306
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by Shestakov » Aug 04, 2015 12:55 pm

No exact ETA, but probably in 6 to 8 weeks.

bkruczek
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 16, 2015 10:31 am
Full Name: Bernd Kruczek

Re: Windows 10

Post by bkruczek » Aug 04, 2015 10:40 pm

6 to 8 Weeks? Are you kidding?

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6306
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by Shestakov » Aug 05, 2015 9:11 am

Veeam VP Anton Gostev also mentioned it in his weekly digest.
Gostev wrote:Windows 10 will be supported in Veeam Endpoint Backup starting from version 1.1 (August), and in Veeam Backup & Replication 8.0 starting from Update 3 (September).
It may happen a bit earlier, though.
Just curious what was your motivation to update your system right after the Windows 10 release?
Thanks!

bkruczek
Influencer
Posts: 14
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 16, 2015 10:31 am
Full Name: Bernd Kruczek

Re: Windows 10

Post by bkruczek » Aug 05, 2015 9:30 am

I have been a member of the insider program and KNOW therefore that the OS is stable and all my applications run on it, except VEEAM

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6306
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by Shestakov » Aug 05, 2015 10:42 am

Thanks for the reply.
Hope we will release the update soon.

Shestakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 6306
Liked: 582 times
Joined: May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by Shestakov » Aug 11, 2015 3:24 pm

Double-checked plans with developers, upcoming Update 3 should support backup of VMs running Windows 10 OS, as well as use machines running Win10 as backup proxy and repository.
Thanks!

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 23624
Liked: 3119 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by Gostev » Aug 11, 2015 11:40 pm

bkruczek wrote:VEEAM Backup and Replication 8.0 has Problems to detect a Windows 10 Hyper-V Host
Please note that we do NOT support Hyper-V on non-server OS at all, so support for Windows 10 Hyper-V is NOT coming with the Update 3. Here is the existing discussion > Windows 8 Hyper-V

mxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 11, 2015 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by mxx » Apr 14, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi,

I'm not that familiar with Hyper-V yet, but from what I've seen a VM from a standalone hyper-v server can be imported into a hyper-v running on a desktop OS.

I'd just like to make sure: would it be possible to use a Hyper-V on Windows 10 to power up a VM backed up via VB&R?

If the client had only 1 physical server running Hyper-V, it would be great -in case of a hardware failure- to be able to run a backed up VM on a desktop os hyper-v until the "proper" hyper-v host is repaired.

Thank you!

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15781
Liked: 1241 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 14, 2016 3:34 pm

I'd just like to make sure: would it be possible to use a Hyper-V on Windows 10 to power up a VM backed up via VB&R?
It won't be possible. Thanks.

mxx
Enthusiast
Posts: 35
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Feb 11, 2015 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by mxx » Apr 14, 2016 6:02 pm

Hmmm... but why if hyperv vms generally can be powered up on a desktop os hyperv?

I'm not asking to integrate a Windows 10 hyperv into veeam (in case there's a misunderstanding).

If I export the vm files from a veeam backup they cannot be used to power up that vm on a win10 hyperv?


This is only of interest for a very small deployment to have an option in case of a disaster when the 1 and only server goes down.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15781
Liked: 1241 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Windows 10

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 15, 2016 8:28 am

To the best of my knowledge it won't be possible due to the differences in Hyper-V implementations. And we generally do not support such scenario.

Though, of course there is nothing preventing you from testing it yourself and seeing the results.

Thanks.

ccclapp
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 11, 2017 4:51 am
Full Name: Caleb C Clapp
Contact:

[MERGED] Add Win10 Host for Hyper-V Not Possible??

Post by ccclapp » Jul 11, 2017 10:23 pm

I am testing B&R and Agents for our small company with two locations. I would like to test Instant Recovery at a home office location on a Win 10 PC to restore Agent backed up PCs. I have enabled Hyper-V and can run VMs on the Win 10 PC. However it appears that B&R will not allow a Win 10 host to be added (tech support believes one must use a Server OS on the host for B&R to accept the host). I am asking here in case anyone has been able to make this work.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests