Connectivity issues

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Connectivity issues

Veeam Logoby notuser » Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:50 pm

I have installed the Monitor 3.0.2 free version. When I add the VC or ESX it errors out with (connection problems)(disconnected). I am running VC 2.5 U3 and ESX 3.5 U3
Pls help.
Thanks
notuser
Expert
 
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Dec 25, 2008 12:01 pm

Can you ping the VC or ESX servers you have added from your console using the names you have specified in Veeam Monitor? If yes, check the log files (you can access them through the Veeam Monitor Settings app), look for the VC/ESX server name you have specified - usually error text there is pretty self-explanatory when it comes to connectivity issues.

If you can find anything, you can send all logs to our support email address along with link to this topic, and our support will investigate this.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Veeam Logoby kiddx » Fri Dec 26, 2008 3:17 am

Testing out the new 3.02 monitor app. I have 4 esxi standalone servers. they are all brand new installs, however one of my servers will not show up in the program it just keeps saying connection problem.

When I goto the log it tells me a new server has been added with the IP I put in, but doesnt have any more information. I try hostname and ip and get the same issue.

I can open vic, and i can goto the https://site and get the vmware info page. All the other servers came right up so not sure whats different about this one.

Thanks
kiddx
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Veeam Logoby Cashman » Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:01 am

Originally posted by kiddx

Testing out the new 3.02 monitor app. I have 4 esxi standalone servers. they are all brand new installs, however one of my servers will not show up in the program it just keeps saying connection problem.

When I goto the log it tells me a new server has been added with the IP I put in, but doesnt have any more information. I try hostname and ip and get the same issue.

I can open vic, and i can goto the https://site and get the vmware info page. All the other servers came right up so not sure whats different about this one.

Thanks







12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread starts, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Connecting to DB Monitor at amd\veeam. Local host is AMD."
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00001708 "Detect Alarm: 0.015
"
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Connecting to host #2 (esxi2)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Error 0x00000BF8 "Connect failed for host #2 (esxi2)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Error 0x00000BF8 "Unknown error 0x80131500 (Code: 0x80131500, Source: PerfHelper, Description: Login failed due to a bad username or password.)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Warning 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread will exit, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:36 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread exits, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:53 Inform 0x00001708 "Detect Alarm: 0.000
"
12/26/08 08:58:10 Error 0x00000E3C "Connect failed for host #3 (esxi.domain.ru)"
12/26/08 08:58:10 Error 0x00000E3C "Unknown error 0x80131500 (Code: 0x80131500, Source: PerfHelper, Description: Ã
Cashman
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:11 pm

Cashman, for esxi2 you have bad credentials provided, as the error description says.
For esxi3, I would like to hear a comment from our developers - Alexander, what could be causing this issue?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:12 pm

kiddx, could you please also post the corresponding piece of the log file here, so our devs could take a look?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Dec 26, 2008 12:21 pm

Cashman, according to developers this error is due to connection being closed (not by our application). They have seen this before a few times, and they believe this was due to firewalls. Stanislav, do you have more details on this error from similar support cases, and what exactly were causing those errors?
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Veeam Logoby notuser » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:33 pm

Sorry - I have been out on vacation.
Thanks for the responses.

I do not have any firewalls that could cause this issue.
And I can ping the vc and esx hosts with their names.

Thanks,
vmsf
notuser
Expert
 
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm

Veeam Logoby ssimakov » Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:10 pm

Hello,

Could you please send the logs of the product to support@veeam.com? We have found a possible cause for such a behaviour and would like to check if the fix is applicable to your case.
ssimakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 300
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov

Veeam Logoby VMFAN » Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:02 pm

Hi ssimakov ,
i am also having the similare issue can you please share the fix that you have found.

Many Thanks
Sun
VMFAN
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:11 pm

Veeam Logoby notuser » Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:54 pm

The time was not in sync on the ESX servers. Once I pointed to an external source, the issues were resolved.

Hope this helps.
notuser
Expert
 
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm

Veeam Logoby Ben Milligan » Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:13 pm

Thanks VMSF - The majority of connectivity problems have been related to time disparities between the Monitor Server and ESX host.

As you had stated, configuring the time (Which is tremendously simple with our Configurator product) on the ESX host will correct this.
Ben Milligan
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 170
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am

Veeam Logoby VMFAN » Wed Feb 04, 2009 4:53 pm

Thanks Ben and VMSF ,
Issue was with NTP configuration, once configured the NTP source i am able to monitor the ESXi server.

Regards
Sun
VMFAN
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: Connectivity issues

Veeam Logoby sixth » Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:07 pm

Just wanted to post I had this same problem today adding a server, NTP wasn't configured on it. I configured it and it worked fine! :-)
sixth
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 52
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:57 am


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests