Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
AlexanderDonov
Expert
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm
Contact:

Connectivity issues

Post by AlexanderDonov » Dec 24, 2008 6:50 pm

I have installed the Monitor 3.0.2 free version. When I add the VC or ESX it errors out with (connection problems)(disconnected). I am running VC 2.5 U3 and ESX 3.5 U3
Pls help.
Thanks

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev » Dec 25, 2008 12:01 pm

Can you ping the VC or ESX servers you have added from your console using the names you have specified in Veeam Monitor? If yes, check the log files (you can access them through the Veeam Monitor Settings app), look for the VC/ESX server name you have specified - usually error text there is pretty self-explanatory when it comes to connectivity issues.

If you can find anything, you can send all logs to our support email address along with link to this topic, and our support will investigate this.

kiddx
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by kiddx » Dec 26, 2008 3:17 am

Testing out the new 3.02 monitor app. I have 4 esxi standalone servers. they are all brand new installs, however one of my servers will not show up in the program it just keeps saying connection problem.

When I goto the log it tells me a new server has been added with the IP I put in, but doesnt have any more information. I try hostname and ip and get the same issue.

I can open vic, and i can goto the https://site and get the vmware info page. All the other servers came right up so not sure whats different about this one.

Thanks

Cashman
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Cashman » Dec 26, 2008 6:01 am

Originally posted by kiddx

Testing out the new 3.02 monitor app. I have 4 esxi standalone servers. they are all brand new installs, however one of my servers will not show up in the program it just keeps saying connection problem.

When I goto the log it tells me a new server has been added with the IP I put in, but doesnt have any more information. I try hostname and ip and get the same issue.

I can open vic, and i can goto the https://site and get the vmware info page. All the other servers came right up so not sure whats different about this one.

Thanks





12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread starts, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Connecting to DB Monitor at amd\veeam. Local host is AMD."
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00001708 "Detect Alarm: 0.015
"
12/26/08 08:57:33 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Connecting to host #2 (esxi2)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Error 0x00000BF8 "Connect failed for host #2 (esxi2)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Error 0x00000BF8 "Unknown error 0x80131500 (Code: 0x80131500, Source: PerfHelper, Description: Login failed due to a bad username or password.)"
12/26/08 08:57:36 Warning 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread will exit, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:36 Inform 0x00000BF8 "Collecting thread exits, hostID: #2 (esxi2)."
12/26/08 08:57:53 Inform 0x00001708 "Detect Alarm: 0.000
"
12/26/08 08:58:10 Error 0x00000E3C "Connect failed for host #3 (esxi.domain.ru)"
12/26/08 08:58:10 Error 0x00000E3C "Unknown error 0x80131500 (Code: 0x80131500, Source: PerfHelper, Description: Ã

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev » Dec 26, 2008 12:11 pm

Cashman, for esxi2 you have bad credentials provided, as the error description says.
For esxi3, I would like to hear a comment from our developers - Alexander, what could be causing this issue?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev » Dec 26, 2008 12:12 pm

kiddx, could you please also post the corresponding piece of the log file here, so our devs could take a look?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24092
Liked: 3279 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Gostev » Dec 26, 2008 12:21 pm

Cashman, according to developers this error is due to connection being closed (not by our application). They have seen this before a few times, and they believe this was due to firewalls. Stanislav, do you have more details on this error from similar support cases, and what exactly were causing those errors?

AlexanderDonov
Expert
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by AlexanderDonov » Jan 05, 2009 4:33 pm

Sorry - I have been out on vacation.
Thanks for the responses.

I do not have any firewalls that could cause this issue.
And I can ping the vc and esx hosts with their names.

Thanks,
vmsf

ssimakov
Veeam Software
Posts: 326
Liked: 37 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Full Name: Stanislav Simakov
Contact:

Post by ssimakov » Jan 21, 2009 4:10 pm

Hello,

Could you please send the logs of the product to support@veeam.com? We have found a possible cause for such a behaviour and would like to check if the fix is applicable to your case.

VMFAN
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 12:11 pm
Contact:

Post by VMFAN » Jan 31, 2009 10:02 pm

Hi ssimakov ,
i am also having the similare issue can you please share the fix that you have found.

Many Thanks
Sun

AlexanderDonov
Expert
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by AlexanderDonov » Feb 02, 2009 2:54 pm

The time was not in sync on the ESX servers. Once I pointed to an external source, the issues were resolved.

Hope this helps.

Ben Milligan
Expert
Posts: 173
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ben Milligan » Feb 02, 2009 4:13 pm

Thanks VMSF - The majority of connectivity problems have been related to time disparities between the Monitor Server and ESX host.

As you had stated, configuring the time (Which is tremendously simple with our Configurator product) on the ESX host will correct this.

VMFAN
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 12:11 pm
Contact:

Post by VMFAN » Feb 04, 2009 4:53 pm

Thanks Ben and VMSF ,
Issue was with NTP configuration, once configured the NTP source i am able to monitor the ESXi server.

Regards
Sun

sixth
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 05, 2009 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Connectivity issues

Post by sixth » Feb 27, 2009 7:07 pm

Just wanted to post I had this same problem today adding a server, NTP wasn't configured on it. I configured it and it worked fine! :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests