Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
intenso
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 27, 2010 3:42 pm
Full Name: Ronny Stein
Contact:

"could not connect to Veeam Monitor Server...."

Post by intenso » Jan 27, 2010 4:00 pm

Hi,

since i installed Kaspersky Antivir on my Management PC i have this problem: i start the Veeam Monitor Client and this message shows:

"Could not connect to Veeam Monitor Server. Please check "Veeam Monitor Server"

This i have done, all services are fine (Veeam and SQL DB).

If i stop the Kaspersky Antivir from my Kaspersky Admin Console then the Veeam Client starts fine. But i need a running Antivir on this Machine.


here a cut from my "monitor.gui.log":

27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "----------------------------------- New session -----------------------------------"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "Veeam Monitor for VMware version 4.5.0.189"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "Running at Control-01.rimpar"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "Local time is UTC +1"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "WinVer=Microsoft Windows Vista; Platfrom=64"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Generic 0x0834 main "UserIsAdmin=true; Username=Control-01\SendeSystem"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Inform 0x0834 main "Change the current directory D:\Programme\VeamMonitor succeded."
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Inform 0x14A4 GUI "AssignProcessToJobObject error with code: 5"
27.01.2010 16:40:33 Inform 0x14A4 GUI "Find 4.0 client: C:\Program Files (x86)\VMware\Infrastructure\Virtual Infrastructure Client\Launcher\VpxClient.exe"
27.01.2010 16:40:35 Generic 0x14A4 GUI "Monitor started on host control-01"
27.01.2010 16:40:36 Warning 0x14A4 GUI "Service connection failed Address = \\Control-01\pipe\VeeaMDCS Error = 0x40"


Any Idea? perhaps i would have to change some Policys on my Kaspersky but i dont know which. All policies i have tried dont work with Veeam Monitor Client.


Another Question: if the "Veeam Monitor Client" stops then i get further error messages from the Veam Service about my ESX Servers?


Thanks for any help

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24818
Liked: 3574 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: "could not connect to Veeam Monitor Server...."

Post by Gostev » Jan 27, 2010 4:38 pm

Yes, Veeam Monitor has client-server architecture, so having client UI open does not matter.

As for antivirus issue, it would be best to take it to Kaspersky support. We do not support configurations with 3rd party software which blocks communication channels our software is relying on. May be their technical support will be able to advice what antivirus settings need to be changed, alternatively there could be some application's "white-lists" and so on (I don't know anything about this antivirus program, sorry).

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23010
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: "could not connect to Veeam Monitor Server...."

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 27, 2010 4:40 pm

Hello Ronny,

You can also check that these ports are open, so that your client part is able to communicate with the server one.

Thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests