Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
zilch321
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Couldn't create VIC process

Post by zilch321 » Feb 05, 2010 9:34 pm

I'm currently running an eval of Veeam Monitor and having some trouble with the VIC tab of the tool. I was able to easily launch the VIC for the vSphere vCenter instance that I added to the monitor if I click the VIC tab. However there are two instances of ESXi 3.5.0 build 169697 that are also mapped to the monitoring tool. When I slick the VIC tab for these systems I am given an error in red "Couldn't create VIC process".

If I right click on the host in the left hand pane of the application and select Open with VIClient again nothing happens, no errors, no activity of any type. The same is true for the vCenter host that does work when using the tab.

I'm considering this product to manage a large installation of ESXi hosts so before I pay into the product I need to confirm this actually works.

Any help that can be provided to trace possible bugs or trouble shoot the issue via logs would be helpful.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23213
Liked: 1605 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Couldn't create VIC process

Post by Vitaliy S. » Feb 08, 2010 10:47 am

Hello,

Probably I got it wrong, but are you able to successfully connect using VIC to your vCenter as well as your to ESXi hosts from the machine where Monitor is installed? When you click "Open with VIClient" are there any VPXClient.exe processes started if you look at the Task Manager?
By the way if you look at the GUI log (Help|About|View Log) do you see any errors there?

Thank you!

zilch321
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Couldn't create VIC process

Post by zilch321 » Feb 08, 2010 6:34 pm

Correct, I can open the VIC and connect to vCenter or ESX directly from the server where Monitor is running from. If I connect to the Veeam Client and right click to launch the VIC nothing happens and no VPXClient attempts to start. If I click the VIC tab on the vCenter system it will open the VIC inside of the Veeam Client. If I flick on the VIC tab for either ESXi host nothing happens and no VPXClient attempts to start. The following log entry appears when trying to connect to an ESXi system:

2/8/2010 1:16:15 PM Inform 0x0B8C pipe "Starting pipe client..."
2/8/2010 1:16:17 PM Inform 0x0B8C pipe "Pipe client started"
2/8/2010 1:16:21 PM Generic 0x127C GUI "Database connection established (IFSHVC02\SQLEXPRESS\veeam_mon)"
2/8/2010 1:16:22 PM Inform 0x127C GUI "Thread Pool was initialized"
2/8/2010 1:33:45 PM Inform 0x1E14 ifshesx08.xxxx.com:443 "Find 2.5 client: C:\Program Files\VMware\Infrastructure\Virtual Infrastructure Client\Launcher\VpxClient.exe"
2/8/2010 1:33:45 PM Inform 0x1E14 ifshesx08.xxxx.com:443 "Find 4.0 client: D:\Program Files\VMware\Infrastructure\Virtual Infrastructure Client\Launcher\VpxClient.exe"
2/8/2010 1:33:45 PM Inform 0x1E14 ifshesx08.xxxx.com:443 "Starting VIC"
2/8/2010 1:33:45 PM Inform 0x1E14 ifshesx08.xxxx.com:443 "Create VIC: C:\Program Files\VMware\Infrastructure\Virtual Infrastructure Client\Launcher\VpxClient.exe"
2/8/2010 1:33:45 PM Warning 0x1E14 ifshesx08.xxxx.com:443 "Couldn't create VIC process"

zilch321
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: Couldn't create VIC process

Post by zilch321 » Feb 08, 2010 10:05 pm

Switched the user running the veeam service and the user used to connect to the database to domain accounts. Enabled the SQL Browser service. That seems to have fixed this issue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest