Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
NT29
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm
Contact:

Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by NT29 » Mar 17, 2012 9:57 am

hello

I have a server where veeam backup (V5) is installed

I wanted to test veeam monitor, so i downoad it and read:
My questions are :
Q1: Is it better to install it on the VEEAM server ?
Q2: It is said in the document that it will install a named (VEEAM) instance, i see in the services an already Sql server (VEEAM) instance so will it be the same instance ?
because i didn't want to crash veeam

thanks for explanations
nt

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 18, 2012 4:42 pm

Hello Nicolas,

1. Yes, you can install it on the same server that hosts Veeam B&R, but if you use a local backup proxy I would recommend deploying these products on different servers for better backup/replication job performance.
2. Yes, it will re-use already installed instance.

Thank you.

NT29
Influencer
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by NT29 » Mar 19, 2012 8:14 am

thanks a lot for the answers
have a nice day
nicolas

AndyR
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 10, 2010 4:07 am
Full Name: Andy Roberts
Contact:

Install alongside Backup & Replication

Post by AndyR » Apr 09, 2012 11:29 pm

[merged]

Hi,

I currently have Veeam Backup & Replication V5 installed on a dedicated VM and its using SQL Express, which all works fine.

I'd like to have some better monitor/reporting and capacity planning facility for my environment so I was looking at the free edition of Veeam One. My question though, can I install these on the same VM as my existing Veeam Backup & Replication install, and if so would this impact anything such as the SQL express install which is currently VEEAM, as I noticed Monitor wants to use this too?

Thanks,

Andy

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 10, 2012 9:07 am

Hi Andy,

Yes, definitely! But please be aware that SQL Server 2005 which is shipped together with Veeam B&R v6 has 4 GBs maximum size for its database, it might not be enough for your infrastructure (depends on the number of VMs, hosts and datastores).

On a side note, we are going to release a new version of Veeam ONE v6 VERY soon, so I would suggest waiting for this version and then deploy it on a standalone server while hosting Veeam ONE database on a SQL Server 2008 Express, which has a 10 GBs of database max size.

Thanks!

ploleary
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 08, 2011 12:58 pm
Full Name: Paul O'Leary
Contact:

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by ploleary » Apr 12, 2012 6:51 pm

I ran into this issue a few months ago so had to abandon my testing. Can't wait for v6 and SQL Express 2008 to try it again.
Any ETA on the release?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 12, 2012 8:04 pm

I would really want to give you the exact date, but our marketing wouldn't be happy with that move :)

If you want to be the first one to know, please register on our Veeam ONE free edition landing page:
http://go.veeam.com/one-v6-free-edition.html?ad=large

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests