Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby NT29 » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:57 am

hello

I have a server where veeam backup (V5) is installed

I wanted to test veeam monitor, so i downoad it and read:


My questions are :
Q1: Is it better to install it on the VEEAM server ?
Q2: It is said in the document that it will install a named (VEEAM) instance, i see in the services an already Sql server (VEEAM) instance so will it be the same instance ?
because i didn't want to crash veeam

thanks for explanations
nt
NT29
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:42 pm

Hello Nicolas,

1. Yes, you can install it on the same server that hosts Veeam B&R, but if you use a local backup proxy I would recommend deploying these products on different servers for better backup/replication job performance.
2. Yes, it will re-use already installed instance.

Thank you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby NT29 » Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:14 am

thanks a lot for the answers
have a nice day
nicolas
NT29
Influencer
 
Posts: 18
Liked: never
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:27 pm

Install alongside Backup & Replication

Veeam Logoby AndyR » Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:29 pm

[merged]

Hi,

I currently have Veeam Backup & Replication V5 installed on a dedicated VM and its using SQL Express, which all works fine.

I'd like to have some better monitor/reporting and capacity planning facility for my environment so I was looking at the free edition of Veeam One. My question though, can I install these on the same VM as my existing Veeam Backup & Replication install, and if so would this impact anything such as the SQL express install which is currently VEEAM, as I noticed Monitor wants to use this too?

Thanks,

Andy
AndyR
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 36
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 4:07 am
Full Name: Andy Roberts

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:07 am

Hi Andy,

Yes, definitely! But please be aware that SQL Server 2005 which is shipped together with Veeam B&R v6 has 4 GBs maximum size for its database, it might not be enough for your infrastructure (depends on the number of VMs, hosts and datastores).

On a side note, we are going to release a new version of Veeam ONE v6 VERY soon, so I would suggest waiting for this version and then deploy it on a standalone server while hosting Veeam ONE database on a SQL Server 2008 Express, which has a 10 GBs of database max size.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby ploleary » Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:51 pm

I ran into this issue a few months ago so had to abandon my testing. Can't wait for v6 and SQL Express 2008 to try it again.
Any ETA on the release?
ploleary
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:58 pm
Full Name: Paul O'Leary

Re: Install Veeam monitor free for testing

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:04 pm

I would really want to give you the exact date, but our marketing wouldn't be happy with that move :)

If you want to be the first one to know, please register on our Veeam ONE free edition landing page:
http://go.veeam.com/one-v6-free-edition.html?ad=large
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests