Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby survive » Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:12 pm

Hi guys,

Question for you about licensing Veeam Monitor 5.0 Free.

I downloaded the software last week right after it was made available. The confirmation email I got told me that:

LICENSING:
This product is free of charge and no license is required.


Yet page 6 of the readme file included with the software said:

Veeam Monitor Free Edition does not require you to provide a license during the
product's setup. Without a license file, it can be used for up to 100 days. After that, you
will be asked to install a free license file which can be obtained by registering your product
installation with Veeam.


It seems to me there is a bit of a disconnect between what the 2 documents and I’m really curious about which one is correct.

Put simply, do I need a license or not?

If so how do I go about getting this license? I would imagine a license should have been auto-generated along with the email I goot when I downloaded the software. The readme file instructs me to register the software, but I have not yet figured out where I’m supposed to do that…that said, registering seems a little redundant when I have already registered to get access to download the software and you know I’ve downloaded the software anyway!

So I've been trying to get this question answered for about a week....contacting support got me a prompt reply late Friday night and on Monday they passed my ticket over to the licensing people, who I haven't heard a peep out of since.

-Will
survive
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:40 am
Full Name: Willie Survive

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 free version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:54 am

Hello Will,

The corresponding readme file has the most up-to-date information regarding Veeam Monitor 5 licensing model. You do not need a license file to install and start using Veeam Monitor 5.0 Free Edition. If you are still using the product 3 month after installing it, you should install a free license file. To get the file, you will need to follow the link you'll receive after 100 days period expires. You will only need to specify some license parameters (such as the number of sockets you need the free license file to be generated for), and the license file will be emailed to you - it is fully automated process.

While the operation may seem to be redundant, please appreciate the fact that our web-site is not the only place you can download the product from, and we cannot keep track of those other downloads. Plus, this way we will know how many users are actually using the product (versus stop using it after evaluation).

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby antimomauro » Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:40 pm

We have just upgraded from Monitor 4.5 Free Version (installed 5 months ago) at Monitor 5.0 Free Version.
The setup upgrade was successfully completed. However when we execute Monitor 5.0 Free Version it does not work because file license is not installed. Infact the "License Status" displayed on the "Veem Monitor Server Settings" form shows a red status. IMHO the application calculate we are beyond the 100 "free days" without license (maybe it starts to count from Monitor 4.5 installation date). If this is true what can we do?

Vitaliy S. wrote:To get the file, you will need to follow the link you'll receive after 100 days period expires.


Obviously we have not receive any link to require the Free License File, but our Society is registered with Veem.
Please help us! We are monitoring our virtual infrastructure very well from 5 mounths and we are evaluating the application for the full upgrade. Now we are suddenly blind one without any usefull monitor :(

Thanks in advance for your support.

P.S.: Sorry for my English ...
antimomauro
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:14 pm
Full Name: Antimo Mauro

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:05 pm

What do you mean by "it does not work"? What exactly does not work?

It is okay for license status to be red, free version does not require the license when it is first installed. Veeam Monitor 4.5 installation time does not matter, as 5.0 creates brand new database.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21396
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby antimomauro » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:55 am

Gostev wrote:What do you mean by "it does not work"? What exactly does not work?


Toolbar: all buttons except Refresh, Options and Help are disabled.
Left Frame: blank (in the previous version we have linked 3 hosts) and maybe it is disabled (we can not click on "Infrastructure View", "Business View" or "Alarm Management".
On the status bar we read on the first panel "[ServerName]\ALERTVMWARE\VeeamMonitor5 (disconnected)". On the 2nd panel: "Service: [ServerName] (initializing...)".

From the log file:

Code: Select all
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "----------------------------------- New session -----------------------------------"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "Veeam Data Collector Service version 5.0.0.261"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "Running at ntbackup.PROGER"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "Local time is UTC +1"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "WinVer=Microsoft Windows XP Professional  (Version: 5.1 (build 2600), Platform: 2, Product: 1 Suite: 256, Service Pack: 3.0); Platfrom=32"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Generic 0x0A78 worker      "UserIsAdmin=true; Username=PROGER\NTBACKUP$"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "----------------- Settings --------------------"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "IsHeadquarterMode: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "SyncCollectorTimeout: 30000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "SyncResamplingTimeout: 90000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "LogLevel: 1"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxLogSize: 10485760"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxLogFiles: 10"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxTimeDiff: 600"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "RestartTimeout: 600000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "CollIntTypicalScal: 60000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "CollIntAdvScal: 600000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "BVPollInterval: 1800000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "ResamplingInterval: 600000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxHistQueryInterval: 3888000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PerfHighMaxAge: 3600"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PerfMedMaxAge: 86400"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PerfLowMaxAge: 31622400"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MedSamplePeriod: 300"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "LowSamplePeriod: 7200"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "RtPerfQueryPeriod: 60"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MedPerfQueryPeriod: 1440"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "LowPerfQueryPeriod: 527040"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "AlarmDetectInterval: 20000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PipeSecRecvTimeout: 30000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxEntitiesInPerfQuery: 300"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "EnableESXEmulator: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "VCEmulationThreshold: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "ServiceHeartbeatInterval: 60000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "LockStrategy: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatabaseHost: ntbackup\ALERTVMWARE"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatabaseName: VeeamMonitor5"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatabaseLogin: PROGER\g.caccavale"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatabaseAuthSql: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DisableMTPerfLoading: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PipeBufferSize: 65536"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "HostScanInterval: 10000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "EventEnumPageSize: 1000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "EventCachePeriod: 3900"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "RtGenPerfHistInterval: 20"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "RootEntityStatUpdateInterval: 30"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "CollectorStopTimeout: 300000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PerfCacheIntervalTypical: 3900"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "PerfCacheIntervalAdv: 12000"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DontKeepDeletedVms: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DisableIncInfUpdate: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DisableClientUserCheck: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatastoreFileInfoTaskIntervalInMin: 60"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DatastoreInstanceLoadMethod: 0"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "DbLogShrinkIntervalInMin: 1440"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "MaxConcurrentDsTasks: 5"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "-----------------------------------------------"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A78 worker      "License information: Mode: 4, Sockets: 2147483647"
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Connecting to DB VeeamMonitor5 at ntbackup\ALERTVMWARE. Local host is ntbackup."
10/18/10 18:19:04 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Impersonate: Trying to logon as 'PROGER\g.caccavale', domain - '', type - 2, provider - 0"
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "SQL server is accessible, starting services..."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Stopping request processor..."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Request processor stopped"
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Database language is 1040 (Italian)"
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Initializing alarm cache..."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Initializing perfomance cache..."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "A database error (code:0x80040E07, ) has occured in context of SELECT * FROM PerfSampleRt WHERE (timestamp>'18/10/2010 15.14.05') ORDER BY timestamp. Error information follows"
[b]10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Error record 1 of 1: La conversione del tipo di dati da char a datetime ha generato un valore di tipo datetime non compreso nell'intervallo dei valori consentiti."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Inform  0x0A14 boss      "Throwing exception."
10/18/10 18:19:05 Error   0x0A14 boss      "Unable to start services. La conversione del tipo di dati da char a datetime ha generato un valore di tipo datetime non compreso nell'intervallo dei valori consentiti."
[/b]
Now we are trying to change SQL Server account settings about localization...
We are setting the account language to English.

Now it works!!!! :)

P.S.: It seems the database 5.0 is empty, without the history of prioviously data collected in the last months. We suppose maybe it is by design...
antimomauro
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:14 pm
Full Name: Antimo Mauro

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:08 am

Antimo, as soon as you connect to a vCenter Server for the first time Veeam Monitor starts importing past performance data for the past year, which will be available on the graphs in the paid version only. During the upgrade performance data from the previous database won't be transferred to the new database as per our release notes:
http://www.veeam.com/files/release_notes/veeam_monitor_5_0_release_notes.pdf
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby antimomauro » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:22 am

OK! Thanks a lot for your fast and polite support!

Antimo Mauro
Proger Srl
antimomauro
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:14 pm
Full Name: Antimo Mauro

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby joergr » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:09 pm

Hi,

could you please explain exactly what you did with the locale language setting to get the database connected? i have exactly the same problem on a w2008r2 german server.

best regards
Joerg
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:19 am

Hi Joerg, I believe Antimo was talking about the account that is used to connect to SQL database, try changing it to English languange and see if that helps.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby joergr » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:40 am

Hi Vitaliy,
yeah, i tried that (had not worked for me) but i found out the problem was i had to use the standard "administrator" account to connect to the database. it didn´t worked out with another account (which was also admin to that database, i personally made sure). Strange, strange - but anyhow, it works now ;-)
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby albertwt » Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:12 am

Yes, that is what I'm using now as the SQL Server login credentials (DOMAIN\Administrator) for simplicity reason.

Veeam is so generous, this very useful tools like this comes as a freeware :-)
now I'm using the Standard edition since i want more detailed historical data.

Great job Veeam !
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
albertwt
Expert
 
Posts: 607
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:15 am

Joerg, glad that you're up and running now, but could you tell me if you've tried connecting to the databse with another account using Management Studio from Veeam Monitor server? Did it work for you?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby joergr » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:54 am

Hi Vitaliy, yeah and it worked, but in monitor i HAD to use administrator.
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:08 am

That's strange, have you checked the log file for any clues before switching to default administrator account?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1103 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Licensing for Monitor 5.0 Free Version

Veeam Logoby joergr » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:34 pm

nope, had no time, thus, did trial and error ;-) mea culpa ;-) - normally i trace everything but sometimes my nerves......
joergr
Expert
 
Posts: 377
Liked: 39 times
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:01 pm
Full Name: Joerg Riether


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests