Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby shashi_rc » Tue May 04, 2010 5:42 pm

I am getting the following error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5 Veeam Monitor even though the Id I am using has local admin access and db_owner access on the sql database. has anyone seen this error? Pl help

"Specified User Account must have admin privileges on the local machine"
shashi_rc
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:56 pm
Full Name: Shashi Chappidi

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 04, 2010 8:21 pm

Hello Shashi,

Have you tried creating and using another local admin account? I would try launching setup using Run as administrator shortcut menu command and see whether it makes a difference or not. By the way on what OS are you running Veeam Monitor 4.0.1?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby shashi_rc » Wed May 05, 2010 12:17 pm

Yes, using another local account also did not work.
we are on Win 2003 Std Ed SP2.
shashi_rc
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:56 pm
Full Name: Shashi Chappidi

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 05, 2010 1:45 pm

Shashi,

Probably I got you wrong, are you using local admin account to launch the setup? Do you enter the local admin account during the setup wizard as well? The only reason that comes to my mind is that it is a VM specific issue. I haven't found any similar cases in our support ticketing system.

To nail down the issue I would install SQL Management Studio to connect to an existing SQL server and would try creating any DB using the same local admin account. This should show if there are any issues with the local admin account.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby shashi_rc » Wed May 05, 2010 3:08 pm

We did a webex session with Veaam Engineer and didnt get anywhere. My concern is, the same id was used to install the original Veeam instance and now we are facing this issue. Even the 4.0.1 wont install anymore now. It is something to do with the format of entering the instance name. It is expecting something like "localhost\instance name" . In our case, hostname and instance is the same so we tried different combinations and gives the same misleading error message.

2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Log opened. (Time zone: UTC-04:00)
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Setup version: Inno Setup version 5.2.3
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Original Setup EXE: C:\veeam_monitor_4.5.0.189\veeam_monitor_vi.exe
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Setup command line: /SL5="$50112,90998653,64000,C:\veeam_monitor_4.5.0.189\veeam_monitor_vi.exe"
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Windows version: 5.02.3790 SP2 (NT platform: Yes)
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 64-bit Windows: No
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 Processor architecture: x86
2010-05-05 09:24:17.780 User privileges: Administrative
2010-05-05 09:24:17.811 64-bit install mode: No
2010-05-05 09:24:17.811 Created temporary directory: C:\DOCUME~1\VEEAMI~1.COR\LOCALS~1\Temp\1\is-MHFLD.tmp
2010-05-05 09:26:13.808 Message box (OK):
Specified user account must have administrative privileges on the local machine.
shashi_rc
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:56 pm
Full Name: Shashi Chappidi

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed May 05, 2010 4:08 pm

Shashi,

Could you please email our support team with the time you're available for one more Webex. We would like to involve our development team in troubleshooting your issue.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Monitor Error during upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.5

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue May 11, 2010 2:56 pm

Just wanted to update the topic with the resolution, might be helpful for others. Due to some environmental specific policies full domain name should have been used (domain.local\user_account) during setup process.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests