Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
Post Reply
meteor
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

No connection to database

Post by meteor »

I've just installed Monitor and instead of using the sql express version I pointed the install to a regular SQL 2005 server. Install gives on errors but when I run Monitor I get no connection to database. Quick look on DB server shows no veeam instance, so I create it. Uninstall and reinstall. Still no database connection!

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

To connect to the remote SQL DB you need to verify that:

1. SQL Server is configured for Windows Authentication. Named Pipes protocol is enabled.
2. The user that you have specified during installation has administrative rights on both remote (database) and local hosts.
3. Please check manually that “Veeam Monitoringâ€Â

meteor
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by meteor »

I'm no DB admin but;
When I log into the databasew management console I use the domain admin account. The owner of the Veeam DB that I created is Domain admin account.
Domain admin was also used to install Monitor.
The Veeam Monitoring user group were created by the installation.
The instance name is dbservername\dbname.
Permanent LinkGo to Top of Page

AlexanderDonov
Expert
Posts: 216
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 26, 2009 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by AlexanderDonov »

I am facing database connection problem.
Receiving following error message while connecting to database
"Could not connect to database. Please check connection settings"
Please, anyone knows solution kindly post, I have send a mail to support and not received any reply.

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

Thank you for your request.

Please run the following command and forward obj.dat to support@veeam.com:
SQLCMD.EXE -S <DB_HOST>\<DB_INSTANCE> -Q "SELECT * FROM Monitor.dbo.sysobjects WHERE xtype='u' OR xtype='v' ORDER BY xtype,name" > obj.dat 2>&1

Please verify that you have changed <DB_HOST>\<DB_INSTANCE> to the correct values i.e. localhost\veeam

perch
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by perch »

Did you ever solve this issue as we have been having a similar issue connecting to a remote SQL database with the message "could not connect to database please check connection settings"

Atkatch
Expert
Posts: 212
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Contact:

Post by Atkatch »

If everything is correct please send us the logs (About->View log, View service log)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests