v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby alubel » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:29 pm

We have updated 2 of our ESX hosts and firmware to latest version a few weeks ago (4.1 260247) along with monitor v5. These are identically configured sun X4150's. within the vsphere console both hosts report "hardware status" is normal. Within the monitor v5 console, one of the hosts has an alarm going off every 10 minutes with alarm detail stating "Sensor VMware Rollup Health State equal Unknown" and in the hardware tab showing "VMware rollup health state" with a question mark. I have tried resetting the sensors on the affected host with no resolution.

Is there anymore information I could provide that would help in resolving this?
alubel
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:05 pm
Full Name: Andy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:31 pm

Hello Andy, it would be helpful, if you could look through a VeeamDCS.log file and see if there are any errors related to the second ESX host. Besides, I believe we may also check the sensor's status with Managed Object Browser to compare the behavior... Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:35 am

Andy, please use the instructions I've sent you via PM to check the sensor state with MOB. I would appreciate if you could post your results back here. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby alubel » Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:06 pm

both are exactly the same, thanks for the advice - any other idea what could cause this?

https://host1/mob/?moid=ha-host&doPath= ... SensorInfo

Code: Select all
aseUnits   string   ""
currentReading   long   0
dynamicProperty   DynamicProperty[]   Unset
dynamicType   string   Unset
healthState   ElementDescription   
NAME   TYPE   VALUE
dynamicProperty   DynamicProperty[]   Unset
dynamicType   string   Unset
key   string   "green"
label   string   "Green"
summary   string   "Sensor is operating under normal conditions"
name   string   "VMware Rollup Health State"
rateUnits   string   Unset
sensorType   string   "system"
unitModifier   int   0


https://host2/mob/?moid=ha-host&doPath= ... SensorInfo

Code: Select all
baseUnits   string   ""
currentReading   long   0
dynamicProperty   DynamicProperty[]   Unset
dynamicType   string   Unset
healthState   ElementDescription   
NAME   TYPE   VALUE
dynamicProperty   DynamicProperty[]   Unset
dynamicType   string   Unset
key   string   "green"
label   string   "Green"
summary   string   "Sensor is operating under normal conditions"
name   string   "VMware Rollup Health State"
rateUnits   string   Unset
sensorType   string   "system"
unitModifier   int   0
alubel
Influencer
 
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:05 pm
Full Name: Andy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:23 pm

For future readers: this is vCenter/ESX hardware interop issue that can be confirmed by browsing vCenter Server's MOB, which also displays unknown state for the VMware Rollup Health state hardware sensor. This is where Veeam Monitor obtains its data from.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby jchampion01 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:38 pm

I am experiencing the same thing on my Dell R710 Servers 2 of the 3 are just fine, but my first one keeps having the Host hardware sensor status changed, for VMware Rollup Health and Drive Bay X Parity Check in progress. In the VI client the hardware status is fine on this drive array and host. Also physically there is little to no activty on the drives and the PERC card has not alerted me of any drive/array parity checks.
I have check the MOB for the VMware Rollup Health Status and it shows, current reading 0, Unset, and green status. Also the sensors for the hard drives and they raid array all show "green" status in MOB and VI CLient. Veeam Monitor keeps reporting this as an issue every 10 minutes.

Was there a resolution to this or, just live with false alarms? Which seems to defeat the purpose of monitoring...
Am i missing something here.
jchampion01
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:07 pm
Full Name: Jeremy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:36 pm

Hello Jeremy, could you please clarify whether you were using vCenter Sever MOB page or ESX host's one? The information about VMware Rollup Health State might be different in those cases.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby jchampion01 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:41 pm

I was using the MOB page on the ESXi host, not the vCenter Server. I will check the vCenter Server MOB page and see if I can find my way around to check the sensor settings and values.
jchampion01
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:07 pm
Full Name: Jeremy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:48 pm

Yes, please do, because the issue we had with Andy related to vCenter server displaying incorrect status for this particular sensor, even though ESX host was reporting correctly.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby jchampion01 » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:56 pm

Could you tell me what links / objects i need to click on to drill down into that information, or the url path?
jchampion01
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:07 pm
Full Name: Jeremy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby jchampion01 » Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:08 am

Alright i think i found it on the vCenter Server MOB page.
It looks like this host (esxi01) on this vCenter Server MOB does show "Yellow" as the status for "VMware Rollup Health" and for the the RAID Array drives under "Drive X Parity Check In Progress - Assert".

VMware Rollup Health
https://shvcenter01/mob/?moid=host%2d207&doPath=runtime%2ehealthSystemRuntime%2esystemHealthInfo%2enumericSensorInfo
Code: Select all
[11] HostNumericSensorInfo Name Type Value
baseUnits string ""
currentReading long 0
dynamicProperty DynamicProperty[] Unset
dynamicType string Unset
healthState ElementDescription Name Type Value
dynamicProperty DynamicProperty[] Unset
dynamicType string Unset
key string "yellow"
label string "Yellow"
summary string "Sensor is operating under conditions that are non-critical"
 
name string "VMware Rollup Health State"
rateUnits string Unset
sensorType string "system"
unitModifier int 0
 


Drive Parity Check
https://shvcenter01/mob/?moid=host%2d207&doPath=runtime%2ehealthSystemRuntime%2esystemHealthInfo%2enumericSensorInfo
Code: Select all
[131] HostNumericSensorInfo Name Type Value
baseUnits string ""
currentReading long 0
dynamicProperty DynamicProperty[] Unset
dynamicType string Unset
healthState ElementDescription Name Type Value
dynamicProperty DynamicProperty[] Unset
dynamicType string Unset
key string "yellow"
label string "Yellow"
summary string "Sensor is operating under conditions that are non-critical"
 
name string "Disk Drive Bay 1 Drive 4: Parity Check In Progress - Assert"
rateUnits string Unset
sensorType string "Storage"
unitModifier int 0
 
jchampion01
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:07 pm
Full Name: Jeremy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:57 am

Jeremy, that's good that we were able to nail it. The resolution provided by Andy was the following, you may also try it, should help:

Andy wrote:Issue resolved by:
1. disable EVC on cluster.
2. vmotion machines over to secondary node.
3. maintenance mode / evict "faulted" node from cluster.
4. remove "faulted" node from vcenter.
5. log into "faulted" node via ILOM, restart management agents
6. re-add node back into vcenter.
7. re-add node to cluster.
8. re-enable EVC.

Thanks,
Vitaliy
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Jpurdy79 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:27 pm

I'm receiving the same alarms since my upgrade to 4.1. How do I access the sensor states in the Managed Object Browser?
Jpurdy79
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:46 pm
Location: Franklin, TN
Full Name: Jonathan Purdy

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:46 pm

Hello Jonathan, here you go:

1. Connect to your vCenter Server via Internet browser - https://vCenter_Server_name/mob/
2. Choose content ServiceContent content
3. Navigate to rootFolder ManagedObjectReference:Folder ha-folder-root (ha-folder-root)
4. Find childEntity ManagedObjectReference:ManagedEntity[] ha-datacenter (ha-datacenter)
5. Choose hostFolder ManagedObjectReference:Folder ha-folder-host (host)
6. Then find childEntity ManagedObjectReference:ManagedEntity[] ha-compute-res
7. Choose host ManagedObjectReference:HostSystem[] ha-host
8. Finally, go to runtime HostRuntimeInfo runtime
9. On doing that, navigate to healthSystemRuntime HealthSystemRuntime healthSystemRuntime
10. Click on systemHealthInfo HostSystemHealthInfo systemHealthInfo
11. Find numericSensorInfo HostNumericSensorInfo[] numericSensorInfo
12. Compare the value in the following string name string "VMware Rollup Health State"

Hope it helps! If you need any assistance with this, please contact our support team directly.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19556
Liked: 1101 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: v5 false alarm "Host hardware sensor status changed"

Veeam Logoby Jpurdy79 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:42 pm

Thanks. I'm going to open a ticket with VMware support. What I'm seeing is that when viewing the "VMware Rollup Health State" string from the vCenter MOB, the key is "unknown" and the summary is "Cannot report on the current health state of the element". Whereas, if I veiw the "VMware Rollup Health State" string from the Host MOB, the key is "green" and the summary is "Sensor is operating under normal conditions".
Jpurdy79
Influencer
 
Posts: 17
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:46 pm
Location: Franklin, TN
Full Name: Jonathan Purdy

Next

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests