[PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

[PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jul 13, 2010 2:35 pm

Veeam Monitor 5.0 Beta
Released: July 13, 2010
Build version: 5.0.0.240

To download the latest version, please follow this link:
http://www.veeam.com/go/monitor-50

For complete list of enhacements, please refer to the What's New document:
http://www.veeam.com/veeam_monitor_5_beta_whats_new_wn.pdf

Upgrade from previous versions is not supported with this beta, we recommend that you install this beta on a separate VM for evaluation.

If you have some feedback about this new release, please post it in this thread.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby whynotq » Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:16 pm

Have Downloaded and installed, did a complete removal of previous version including SQL components but get an error with the DB:

"can't deploy database due to the following error: IDispatch error #3092: create database failed. some filenames listed could not be created. check related errors"

any one seen this as well?
whynotq
Influencer
 
Posts: 12
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:29 pm
Location: UK, South
Full Name: paul whyton

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:04 pm

Hello, please use clean VM which did not have earlier Veeam Monitor versions installed previously. Upgrade will only be supported in the release version.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby survive » Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:48 am

Hi Gostev,

Maybe I'm being a little silly, but doesn't a full reinstall of windows seem to be a bit much to run the beta?

If nothing else I would expect the bulk of your existing customers will be updating their existing installs so this would seem to be something you would want tested now, in the beta stage, instead of holding off and trying it when you release the product!

Is there anything a user can do to run the beta wihtout doing a full system reinstall?

-Will
survive
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:40 am
Full Name: Willie Survive

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:20 am

Hello Will,

You may completely uninstall the previous version of Veeam Monitor including all MDF and LDF files and then install the beta, that should also work.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:16 am

survive wrote:If nothing else I would expect the bulk of your existing customers will be updating their existing installs

We highly recommend to wait for the official release before upgrading any existing installs, and instead install this beta on a separate VM for evaluation. Of course, in the end it comes down to you accepting risks of replacing stable and supported production code, with unsupported beta code. Potentially, there could be bugs resulting on some important alerts not working as expected, resulting in you being unaware of some issues with your VMware environment.

Also, please note that workaround that Vitaly proposed above kills your existing Veeam Monitor 4.5 configuration database files, so if you ever need to go back to this version, you will have to configure Monitor 4.5 from scratch. Also, your existing custom alerts won't be migrated (something that release version of Monitor 5.0 will handle for you). So, I recommend that you at least backup your Monitor 4.5 VM before getting into this.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby survive » Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:05 am

Hi Gostev & Vitaliy,

I was able to install the beta by uninstalling all the bits of SQL that were left over after uninstalling Monitor 4.5, cleaning the system using CCleaner to freshen up the registry and finding & deleting all the directories SQL left behind. After that the beta installed cleanly.

Thanks for the suggestion to purge the .mdf & .ldf files!

I'm just a home user using the free version to monitor an ESXi free version server so the loss of all the historical data wasn't a big deal for me.

The beta looks great.

-Will
survive
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:40 am
Full Name: Willie Survive

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby drbarker » Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:11 pm

Hi guys - it looks like 5.0 is going to be a good upgrade.

A few comments:

- When can we see a beta with power stats in there? :D
- Can we extend some of the 'top 5' bar charts to include everyone?
- It's great to see storage used (Gb) being tracked - can that be integrated with business view so we can see Gb used per department over time?
- At the moment, it's only pulling in 1 year of history - can this be extended? (e.g. 5 years?)
drbarker
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:08 pm

Hello,

-This functionality will be included in the RTM version.
-I think it might be looking a little bit messy if you include all the objects here. Probably, Top 10 option would be a better choice for you?
-Could you please clarify about Business View, as there is a datastore usage per category and group at the Summary tab already available today.
-As far as I remember vCenter stores performance data only for 2 or 3 years by default, so we could potentially pull the data for that period if you need it.

Thank you for your feedback!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:12 pm

Top 5 limitation also has to deal with performance issue I believe (need to check with devs).
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby drbarker » Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:20 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hello,

-This functionality will be included in the RTM version.
-I think it might be looking a little bit messy if you include all the objects here. Probably, Top 10 option would be a better choice for you?
-Could you please clarify about Business View, as there is a datastore usage per category and group at the Summary tab already available today.
-As far as I remember vCenter stores performance data only for 2 or 3 years by default, so we could potentially pull the data for that period if you need it.

Thank you for your feedback!


- Thanks for the powerstats - in the mean time I'll go editing /usr/share/sensors/* for a while ;-)
- I can live with 10 - it's fairly low down on my list of 'wouldn't it be nice if...'
- The summary is good, but tracking the change over time would be better. e.g. Here's our cluster wide CPU usage for the last 2.5 years. http://www.flickr.com/photos/drbarker/4798820373/ Wouldn't it be cool if we could do that for storage too on a per-department basis? vCenter tracks VM size now - veeam monitor just needs to log it & graph it.
- We've increased ours to 5 years - yes the DB will get bigger, but we find the extra info useful.
drbarker
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Jul 16, 2010 3:52 pm

Yes, I fully agree with you about having the historical information on the graphs, but it could take too much time to generate on-the-fly such a trend and display it in the GUI summary page. I believe It might be better to see this kind of information in the trend reports. What do you think of it?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby drbarker » Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:13 pm

I guess the on-the-fly numbers will depend on the workload. What does the average veeam monitor customer look like?

I'd prefer on-the-fly graphs, but I'm in a SME with fewer but bigger VM's - so less stats to process. Web-hosting companies would probably struggle to analyse the stats from thousands of small VM's.
drbarker
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:50 pm

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby doluck » Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:17 am

When doing a Client Only installation and connecting to a 5.0 Beta Server the GUI to the application doesn't load properly.

Anyone else getting this ?
doluck
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 1:08 am
Full Name: Steve

Re: [PUBLIC BETA] Veeam Monitor 5.0

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:17 am

Hello Steve,

As this is only a beta code, I believe it might be expected to see. Could you please send me a private message with the screenshot, so I could reproduce it in my lab?

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests