Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usage?

Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting

Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usage?

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:13 pm

If I do this in Powershell on my Hyper-V 2012 R2 host:

Code: Select all
PS > Get-PhysicalDisk | sort FriendlyName

FriendlyName        CanPool             OperationalStatus   HealthStatus        Usage                              Size
------------        -------             -----------------   ------------        -----                              ----
PhysicalDisk0       False               OK                  Healthy             Auto-Select                   111.79 GB
PhysicalDisk1       False               OK                  Healthy             Auto-Select                   232.88 GB
PhysicalDisk2       False               OK                  Healthy             Auto-Select                    10.91 TB
PhysicalDisk3       False               OK                  Healthy             Auto-Select                     3.64 TB


Veeam, however shows this on the summary page:

Image

Disk1 holds the C drive volume, and disk2, disk0 have volumes which are mount points to the C drive. Disk3 is not currently formatted.
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:17 pm

Hi Mark,

How does the Windows Disk Management snap-in look like? Can you please post the screenshot as well?

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Tue Jan 13, 2015 8:08 pm

Sure here you go

Image
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:40 pm

What about performance monitor (perfmon), do you see performance for these disks there? Also do you see these disks in the infrastructure tree in Monitor Client?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Tue Jan 13, 2015 10:22 pm

The disks show up in performance monitor for physical and logical disk:
Image
Image

They do not show up in the infrastructure tree:

Image
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:21 am

Thanks for the screenshots. I will ask our QC team to reproduce this issue, meanwhile can you please open a support ticket and let me know your case ID?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:17 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks.

Case # 00727174
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:14 am

Did you manage to repro my issue?
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:34 am

As far as I see from the internal notes of your ticket, our QA team is trying to do that. I will ask for an update on Monday.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Why don't all my physical disks show up in resource usag

Veeam Logoby keymoo » Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:16 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:As far as I see from the internal notes of your ticket, our QA team is trying to do that. I will ask for an update on Monday.


Great, thanks for the update.
keymoo
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:43 am
Full Name: Mark Allison


Return to Monitoring



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests