Discussions specific to the Nutanix AHV hypervisor
Post Reply
Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

Hi there

Case Number: 04108250

I'm following the upgrade process and try to "connect Proxy" Option.
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/van/u ... tml?ver=20
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/van/u ... tml?ver=20

After deploying the new proxy image with the help of Veeam B&R, there is the below error after try to import old configuration.
2020-04-07 15:19:22.216 00014 ERROR | [Plugin:AHV]: Failed to upgrade Proxy - Backup REST error: HTTP StatusCode:BadRequest', Description:'"The file '/opt/VeeamBackupAgent/temp/Events.dat' already exists."'
at Veeam.NutanixBackup.Client.VeeamAhvBackupRestClient.ThrowResultException(IRestResponse response)
at Veeam.NutanixBackup.Client.VeeamAhvBackupRestClient.TryGetResultFromRequest[T](IRestResponse response)
at Veeam.NutanixBackup.Client.VeeamAhvBackupRestClient.UploadConfig(String password, Byte[]& fileContent, String fileName)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.ProxyManagement.AhvProxy.UploadConfig(String filePath, String fileName, String password)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.ProxyManagement.ProxyManager.MigrateProxy(AhvProxy ahvProxy, Boolean deleteVm, DtoAhvProxyVmSettings vmSettings, IOperationProgress progress)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.ProxyManagement.ProxyManager.UpgradeProxyInternal(AhvProxy ahvProxy, Boolean deleteVirtualMachineAfterMigration, DtoAhvProxyVmSettings vmSettings, IOperationProgress progress)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.ProxyManagement.ProxyManager.Upgrade(DtoUpgradeProxy dtoProxySpec, IOperationProgress progress)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.AhvProxyInstance.UpgradeProxy(DtoUpgradeProxy dtoProxySpec, IOperationProgress progress)
at StarStack.Platform.Plugin.AhvProxy.AhvProxyPlugin.UpgradeProxy(DtoUpgradeProxy dtoProxySpec, ICommandExecutionContext context)
I'm waiting for support get back to me. Will update this thread if we find a solution.

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

I had to do the following:
1. Backup Configuration from old AHV Proxy
2. Manually add a new AHV Proxy V2
3. Remove the proxy from Veeam console
4. Go to AHV Proxy Console (Command Line):
a) Stop Backup Service
b) Remove Database
c) Start Backup Service
5. Login to AHV Proxy Web GUI
a) Import Config Backup from old Proxy
6. Add Proxy again with "Connect Proxy" option
Backup Jobs are now running. But a new problem has occured.
Before Veeam Upgrade V10, I had disabled all Nutanix Backup Jobs on Veeam VBR.
After the upgrade, I can't enable the jobs. They are greyed out. On AHV Proxy, Jobs are enabled. But they can't run, because they have the "disabled" state on the backup server. Support is working on analysing the situation.

Image

Matt70
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 08, 2020 10:18 am
Full Name: MATTHEW PETTIGROVE
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Matt70 »

Have exactly the same problem described above, did you have any details on the commands used in steps 4a, 4b & 4c?

Cheers,

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

I had to do this free steps:
a) sudo service VeeamBackupAgent stop
b) sudo rm /opt/VeemBackupAgent/nxdb.db
c) sudo service VeeamBackupAgent start

With this command, you will remove the Veeam configuration from the Proxy and it will it Show the initialiation process on next Login.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5567
Liked: 530 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by PTide »

Hi,

The issue is being investigated.

Thanks!

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

PTide wrote:
Apr 09, 2020 7:25 pm
Hi,

The issue is being investigated.

Thanks!
Hi Ptide

The issue with „the existing Events.dat“ or the issue with „Disable/Enable Button greyed out“?

My Nutanix backups are not running because of rhe disabled state on backup server.
I have now recreated some Nutanix jobs with important vms, because there is no other solution at the moment. :-)

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5567
Liked: 530 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by PTide » 1 person likes this post

Actually it's both, but I meant that QA is looking into the former one (.dat existing) specifically

Kevin262
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 03, 2018 1:34 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Kevin262 »

Hello,

i have the same problem. Can't enable Backup Jobs after the upgrade to V10 / AHV2.

Did you solve the problem?

suprnova
Service Provider
Posts: 34
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 08, 2016 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by suprnova »

Be careful with this upgrade. For us after the upgrade, all jobs are failing with the error:
Full backup file merge failed Error: The statement terminated. The maximum recursion 100 has been exhausted before statement completion.

We have had a ticket open with support, but I hope no one else runs into this.

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

Hi suprnova

Luckily, i don‘t faced this error.
But I had to recreate all the jobs after the special upgrade process.

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur »

Kevin262 wrote:
Apr 16, 2020 5:58 pm
Hello,

i have the same problem. Can't enable Backup Jobs after the upgrade to V10 / AHV2.

Did you solve the problem?
No, support is still working on my case.
I have removed all Nutanix Jobs and recreated them. My Backups Can‘t wait for veeam to give me a solution.

But I’m still workIng with them to find a solution :-)
As soon we have find something, I will update this post

Kevin262
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 03, 2018 1:34 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Kevin262 »

Thank you for your quick response! Ok, so the quick and dirty solution will be the best way at the moment :-(.

dezfafara
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 27, 2020 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by dezfafara »

Hi,

Are these issues still existing ?
I'm planning to upgrade from AHV 1.0 to 2.0 , and I am wondering if it should be better or not to wait a little bit before upgrading

Mildur
Service Provider
Posts: 221
Liked: 75 times
Joined: May 13, 2017 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Support is still working on my case "cannot enable Jobs after update"

houstek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 31, 2014 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by houstek »

Same problem ...
It's getting worse and worse at Veeam ... The first years, Veeam, was the best. Today, I'm just waiting for my licenses to expire before moving on to the competitor.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17760
Liked: 1620 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

@houstek We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the said issue. If you provide me with the support ticket ID, I will run it by QA team internally to get it all sorted quickly. Thanks!

houstek
Novice
Posts: 5
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 31, 2014 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: AHV 1.0 to AHV 2.0 Proxy Upgrade process not working

Post by houstek »

here is the return of the support
1 In Veeam Console, choose "Add Nutanix Proxy" -> Deploy New
2 Set the parameters, wait for it to deploy.
3 When it's done, rightclick to the proxy and remove but don't tick the checkbox, VM should remain on Cluster.
4 Open Nutanix Console to proxy, login to it with same credentials as you set during deploy
5 Execute those commands:
sudo service VeeamBackupAgent stop
sudo rm /opt/VeeamBackupAgent/nxdb.db
sudo service VeeamBackupService start
Close console
6 Login to Proxy Web-interface with https://@ip:8100 & login and password that were set during deploy
7 choose "Restore configuration"
8 Restore the configuration. It should be on Veeam B&R server in this folder: C:\Program Files\Veeam\Plugins\Nutanix AHV\Service\PlatformPlugins\AhvProxyManagement
Password is same as during deployment.
9 When configuration is restored, go Veeam Console -> Backup Infrastructure -> Backup Proxies, choose "Add Nutanix Proxy" -> "Connect Proxy", and choose this new proxy.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest