Using object storage as a backup target
Post Reply
lowlander
Service Provider
Posts: 353
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2014 11:48 am
Contact:

Transaction Logs to Capacity Tier

Post by lowlander »

Hi,

can we copy transaction logs to object storage ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19465
Liked: 1767 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Transaction Logs in Backup Copy or Replica

Post by foggy »

No, transaction log backups are not copied to Capacity Tier.

rweis
Veeam Software
Posts: 259
Liked: 29 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2011 7:46 pm
Full Name: Randy Weis
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Contact:

Re: Transaction Logs to Capacity Tier

Post by rweis »

@foggy I understand that granular intervals of restore (using logs, for example) aren't consistent with the idea of long term retention points. However, if a backup jobs takes advantage of the new copy/move feature of SOBR with Capacity Tier, and the use of GFS in the primary job definition, SQL transaction log backups are left on-premise (like it used to be with backup copy jobs). So if I want to get a copy of my transaction log backups offsite, I need a Backup Copy Job, which now supports copying transaction log backups. Correct?
Randy Weis
Enterprise SE, NA Strategic Accounts

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 26706
Liked: 4277 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Transaction Logs to Capacity Tier

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

That is correct, Randy.

jmarstoncr
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Aug 25, 2020 1:08 am
Full Name: Jake Marston
Contact:

Re: Transaction Logs to Capacity Tier

Post by jmarstoncr »

Has anyone figured out a good workaround for this, that doesn't require storing a duplicate copy of data?

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 6119
Liked: 899 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Transaction Logs to Capacity Tier

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

as of today, there is no "integrated workaround", but we are working on this feature.

Best regards,
Hannes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests