PowerShell script exchange
oneillsdm
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Shane O'Neill

PowerShell via C# Questions

Post by oneillsdm »

Hi,

I'm new to using Veeam... I am trying to automate the replication of VM's in our environment using PowerShell and C#... I have the PowerShell script working well but when I try to run it in C# (so that I can do batches via multithreading), I have a problem... The Veeam PS snapin does not load for me... Any other PS snapin that I try to load via C# works just fine but the Veeam one does not... Has anyone tried to do this before with any success?

Second question, I noticed that someone mentioned on a different post that you could reference some .dll files from the Veeam install to use in C#? Is there any reference material for these dll's and how they can be used in C#?

Shane...
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: PowerShell via C# Questions

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Shane,

1. What kind of error do you receive? Can you please give us a bit more details on automation you're trying to achieve with C# and PS?
2. There is no such references available.

Thank you!
oneillsdm
Novice

Post by oneillsdm »

Hi Vitaliy,

I don't get any error, just that I can't load the Veeam PowerShell snapin via C#...

Here is a code example... I am adding the Veeam snapin and the VMWare snapins that I also have installed... I then call them to verify that they loaded...

private void example()
{
Runspace rs = RunspaceFactory.CreateRunspace();
rs.Open();
PowerShell ps = PowerShell.Create();
ps.Runspace = rs;
ps.AddScript("Add-PSSnapin VeeamPSSnapin");
ps.AddScript("Add-PSSnapin VMware.*");
ps.AddScript("Get-PSSnapin");
try
{
foreach (PSObject result in ps.Invoke())
{
Console.Write(result.ToString());
}
}
catch(Exception e)
{
rs.Close();
}
rs.Close();
}
}

This is the output that I get...

Microsoft.PowerShell.Diagnostics
Microsoft.PowerShell.Core
Microsoft.PowerShell.Utility
Microsoft.PowerShell.Host