Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
zachm@abmay.com
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Zach Middleton

Setting up a Disaster Recovery Standalone ESXi host

Post by zachm@abmay.com »

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to the Veeam product. Here is some background on my environment. I have three ESXi 5.5 hosts in a cluster with 20 VM's. All of my hosts are connected to my SAN via iSCSI and this is my primary storage for all VMware files. We have a NAS in place as our backup repository (Iomega px4-300d). We have a primary Veeam server that backs up all of our servers. I also have a secondary Veeam server that backs up the primary server. Here is my question. We are moving to a new building soon. I have a standalone host (ESXi 5.5) that I want to restore 6 critical servers and run them in our new network at the new building for a couple of days so we can have a small set of workers operate in order to maintain business continuity while we move the rest of our production environment. Currently, the standalone server only has local storage on it. I am trying to figure out two things: 1. What's the best way to get the vm's restored and up and running on the host and 2. Do I need to have another SAN or NAS set up on the standalone set up to replicate or copy backup files to in order to restore?

I have attempted to take the backup files (.vbk) and run the extract tool, however, this is very time consuming. So I was wondering if anyone has some suggestions of how to achieve this in a more efficient way. Thank you for any and all information!

I did open a case on this issue but I thought I would ask here as well. The Case ID for that is 00522850.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Setting up a Disaster Recovery Standalone ESXi host

Post by veremin »

Hi, Zach,