Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
elliott
Influencer
Liked: 7 times

Exchange & NFS in VMWare - My thoughts on why this can work

Post by elliott » 1 person likes this post

Before I begin, I would like to emphasize that the following is only my opinion. I have deployed a number of high user mailbox databases over quite a few years on a consistent NFS deployment architecture. We in fact changed to our particular NFS deployment to achieve a lower risk of database corruption in a correctly deployed NFS architecture.

But again, to reiterate, this is not fact until it is proven so. I have no background in SCSI programming, NFS software or driver development. I am bringing this up as a discussion and to try and build clarity to the reasoning behind why or why not NFS should be deployed - This is simply my analysis of a perceived problem for a scenario many of us will face.

So in the most recent Veeam Forum Digest, a point was brought up about Microsoft's explicit lack of support for NFS storage for Exchange databases. The lack of support specifically states the following: (from http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 19301.aspx)
All storage used by an Exchange guest machine for storage of Exchange data must be block-level storage because Exchange 2013 doesn't support the use of network attached storage (NAS) volumes, other than in the SMB 3.0 scenario outlined later in this topic. Also, NAS storage that's presented to the guest as block-level storage via the hypervisor isn't supported.
This would lead you to believe that presenting an Exchange virtual machine with a VMDK located on an NFS storage device in VMWare (so, adding an NFS datastore in VMWare and then adding a virtual disk to your exchange VM located on this NFS datastore) is NOT supported my Microsoft and has the potential to cause database corruption.