Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
natefinley
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Nathan Finley

Veeam Zip Doubling Snapshot Size

Post by natefinley »

I am fairly new to Veeam and I am currently using the free version of Veeam to do full backups of my VMs. Currently, I'm using the Veeam Zip feature to do a full backup. In recent days, one of my VMs has started to double the size of the snapshot being created when it begins the backup process. As a result, it's also doubling the size of the backup file that it's creating. Nothing has changed on my end in terms of setup, and I haven't been able to resolve this through any methods of my own. Does anyone have any idea where to start with troubleshooting this issue?

Nate
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6700 times

Re: Veeam Zip Doubling Snapshot Size

Post by Gostev »

natefinley wrote:In recent days, one of my VMs has started to double the size of the snapshot being created when it begins the backup process.
I don't understand what you are saying here. Snapshot file is always created empty, and then it grows with time... that's just how VMware snapshots work. How "empty" can be "double the size"? Snapshot stores all the changes made to the virtual disk by running VM, it exists for the duration of backup only, but keeps growing as backup progresses. Do you possibly mean it grows double the size?
natefinley
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Nathan Finley

Post by natefinley »