Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mongie
Expert
Liked: 24 times
Full Name: Alex Macaronis

DR4100 as a target

Post by mongie »

Hello,

Just wondering if anyone is using a Dell DR4100 as their backup target. We're currently talking with Dell about some issues, and they don't seem to know of anyone using the appliance with Veeam, so I was hoping to find someone here so we could compare experiences.

Thanks,
Alex
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: DR4100 as a target

Post by dellock6 »

I Alex,
I have no experience with the 4100, I tested the 4000 a while ago (http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/dell ... uick-test/) but I don't know how much improvement has come with the 4100, so if that test is already valuable or outdated.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2022
Veeam VMCE #1
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Alex, can you please tell us what issues you're experiencing with this storage? Are they performance related? What is your configuration?
mongie
Expert

Post by mongie »

Vitaliy S. wrote:Alex, can you please tell us what issues you're experiencing with this storage? Are they performance related? What is your configuration?
Hi Vitaliy,

My colleague has a ticket open (with Veeam) about this, and it has been an ongoing issue. We have two problems with the appliance. Firstly, that we're not achieving the dedupe ratio that is advertised (We get 4:1 at best, they advertise 10-15:1). We have 72TB RAW, and we have around 300TB logical data stored. The appliance is now showing 15TB free raw disk.