Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
wortontech
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Kevin Worton

Dell TL2000 does not display slots

Post by wortontech »

Hi. I am pretty new to Veeam (using it for 2 weeks) but been in IT for the last 15 years.

Anyway here is the server spec:

Windows 2008 R2 with a TL2000 loader connected via SAS on a PERC 810. Veeam 7 installed on version 7.0.0.871. The Loader has an LTO4 drive in it and is updated to the latest firmware. The Windows server has Dell drivers version 6.2.3.3 Non Exclusive drivers on there.

This is the issue:

Within Veeam the Backup infrastructure shows the Loader as an IBM ULTRIUM 4 HH 350 Tape Drive. (Surely this should display the loader configuration?)

Upon initial installation there is no Media and there are no Media pools. The Drives show the single LTO4 drive in there. After Inventory (which takes about 10 seconds) there are no tapes within any slots. The only way for the tapes to populate is if I manually load the tape into the drive using the Dell Web Admin. Then the tape appears within the Veeam Console. This manages to back up, however I require the software to auto load the tapes from the slots.

What I expect is a list of media within the drive which is configured in the corresponding slot, however this does not appear to be appearing at all. All I see is the Tape drive with am Empty state if I dont manually load tapes. If I manually load the tape, the tape becomes online and then the loader can see the tape inside.

I have tried re-installing the driver, uninstalling the loader, rebooting the loader and rebooting the server. I have also tried wiping Veeam and Reinstalling.

Any ideas ?
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Dell TL2000 does not display slots

Post by foggy »