Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
WolfgangA
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Wolfgang Aste

Help! Failed to inventory guest. Cannot get host information

Post by WolfgangA »

Hi all,

I am a newbie into VeeAm and have installed and using it for the first time. Installation went fine, and now the first full backup of my SBS 2011 server brings now up all these warnings.

Code: Select all

Failed to inventory guest system: Cannot get host information. Cannot collect host info. Microsoft SharePoint farm topology collector process is failed with exit code -1 Win32 error:The operation completed successfully. Code: 0
Unable to release guest. Details: VSSControl: Failed to freeze guest, wait timeout
Sharepoint on this SBS is not used nor running, however it is installed. Exchange 2010 is used and critical as well as all other stuff on that server. There is also another VM running with Win 2008 Std and BES and SQl, and that backup worked fine.

What I can see from the event log on the SBS server, is that Exchange backup seems have not worked properly. Exchange logs have not been flushed, and there are no event ID's

2006 - Information Store (1240) Shadow copy instance 6 completed successfully.
225 - Information Store (1240) Public Folder Database..
224 - Information Store (1240) Archive1: Deleting log files F:\...

Instead I have this event ID very soon after the backup job started:

2007 - Information Store (1012) Shadow copy instance 1 aborted.

Prior to Veeam I used a local installed BackupAssist application running on the SBS server which worked fine but too slow. I wanted to reduce burden on the server, and also to be able to backup the other VM's and with better performance, and saw a good reputation and feedback for Veeam, thats why I choosed it to replace.

What can I do and need to do to get this issue sorted? What are the best next steps?

Thanks for any constructive help!

Regards
Wolfgang
WolfgangA
Novice