Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
XpertEssentials
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Steven Nichols

Guidance - Reconfiguring a Server with the help of Veeam

Post by XpertEssentials »

Thank you all for the attention here. I am a lone IT pro and need to bounce a plan off the experts to make sure this is GTG.

Let me begin with the specs:

Server in Question

Dell T420 with 8 300GB SAS drives (2 of which are hot spares)
RAID 1 Array, RAID 5 Array
ESXi 5.5
RAID1 Datastore- SBS 2011
RAID 5 Datastore-Storage Server 2012, Windows 7 (*contains Veeam Installation), Exchange DB from SBS 2011 install, vCMA

*Add'l Resources

Dell PE 2850 Server
Synology NAS containing the Veeam Backups for the VMs on T420

Goal:

What I am looking to do is expand the storage capability of the T420 by replacing the 300GB drives with 600GB drives and changing the array configuration to a RAID 10. Looking at the expansion of our business, 2x the storage space while improving performance and redundancy should last our organization some time.

I believe what I can do here is this:

-Obviously, make sure all VMs are backed up and validated
-Install Veeam on the PE 2850 to get it off the ESXI host
-Replace the drives in the T420 and create a RAID 10 array
-Reinstall ESXI 5.5

This is where I get turned around a little bit. I am guessing I can now access the new host from the Veeam install on the PE and restore the VMs from the Synology Volume? Do I need to restore the configuration backup of the ESXI host after reinstalling on the new array? Do I need to backup and restore the Datastores instead of the individual VM's

PLEASE TAKE PARTCULAR NOTE that on the current setup the SBS VM has virtual hard drives on 2 datastores. I guess that wont matter as there will still be 2 datastores on the restore, just on the same array, whcih ESXi doesnt care about?

Mind is rambling at this point. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times