Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
alswi
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Alswi

Backup for a Confidentail VM - Security Concern

Post by alswi »

Hi,

I am a System Administrator and my role takes care of the server backup but one of the special VM would have needed to ask somebody password during restore process.

After migrated the VM infrastructure from 4.0 to 5.5 and also migrated the VM bakcup software from VCB backup ( vmware ) to Veeam Backup software ( Version 7 Enterprise Edition ). The software works perpectly which I could perform backup / restore without any problems. Although the 7.0 version still need the Virtual Lab to perform AD / SQL restore for my enviroment.

However, there is a special VM machine ( Windows perform Joined with confidentail domain - which I should never have the password to login ). I found I could perform VM backup even I configure the backup job for that VM without password to enable applicatoin-aware image processing but just enable VMware Tools quiescence and restore the Guest OS files using the Veeam explorer.

I have raised the question to Veeam local support and he ask me to uncheck the option " Enable VMware Tools quiescence " but I found I could still restore the files without login the guest O.S.

Any guys know the workarounds or the version 8 could solve my current secuirty problem?! I know there is a encryption option for version 8. However, if during restore process without typing the password for decryption. It cannot help to solve my problem too.

ALSWI
emachabert
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 168 times
Full Name: Eric Machabert

Re: Backup for a Confidentail VM - Security Concern

Post by emachabert » 1 person likes this post

As you are the admin, and because a VM is just a bunch of files you are allowed to copy, it is normal you have access to the files....