Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
Brunok
Enthusiast
Liked: 6 times
Full Name: Bruno

File under "System Volume Information" grows until disk full

Post by Brunok »

Hello,
i am new to Veeam, and have following question.

System:
Hyper-V Server 2012R2
4 virtual servers running 2012R2 (DC, SQL, TS, Veeam B&R)

The virtual disks are placed on the D:\ drive and using 500GB, 100 GB still free

When i create a full backup job and start this job, on the D:\System Volume Information\ a file is created and grows as the backup job runs. But this file grows until the D: drive is full, then, of course the VMs crashes (getting paused), and the job fails.
I think that this is a problem with my settings (deduplication ?)
Following Options are set for this job under "Storage" Advanced Settings"
Backup - Incremental, nothing else
Storage - Enable inline data dedup.. / Level optimal / Optimize Local target
Hyper-V Change block tracking enabled

What did i do wrong ?

Thank you for your help
Bruno
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: File under "System Volume Information" grows until disk

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Bruno and welcome to the Veeam community!

Could you elaborate on the issue? What type of error do you see under the "Action" section?
What is the repository and what is the total size of the VMs in the job?
It might be because you have less free space in a repository than the total size of VMs of the job.

If you just started to use Veeam B&R I would recommend you to backup the smallest VM just to see how it works.
Deduplication should not be a problem here. Thank you!
Brunok
Enthusiast

Post by Brunok »

Hello Nikita,
thanks for your input. Yes, indeed the total size in the Action section says: 06.09.2014 22:00:19 :: VM size: 1,5 TB (1,1 TB used)