Real-time performance monitoring and troubleshooting
albertwt
Veeam Legend
Liked: 46 times

Which SQL Server Express is lighter and not resource hogger?

Post by albertwt »

Hi,

I'm about to install Veeam monitor 5 on my laptop with Win XP Pro SP3, which Express Edition is the lighter and does not consume much RAM and disk I/O ?

SQL Server 2005 Express Edition with Advanced Services SP3

SQL Server 2005 Express Edition SP3

SQL Server 2008 Express Edition

SQL Server 2008 Express Edition R2
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Which SQL Server Express is lighter and not resource hog

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Albert,

I'm not a great expert in SQL Servers, though something tells me that SQL Server 2005 would consume less resources. Moreover, this SQL Server is shipped together with the default setup.

Thanks.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »

Hi Albert,

For light-weight solution, go with SQL Server 2005 SP4 Express for sure, but note that it has limit on max database size of 4GB. Of course, SQL Server 2008 R2 Express is noticeable more "fat", but the good thing about it is that it has limit on max database size of 10GB.

Thanks.
albertwt
Veeam Legend

Post by albertwt »

Vitaliy and Gostev, many thanks for the reply well it seems that 4 GB should be more than enough for me since I run the Veeam free monitor 5 as freeware mode.
--
Alexey D.

Post by Alexey D. »

Please consider than even in free mode, Monitor keeps all the performance data. You just have limited access to it - so if you decide to upgrade to paid, data will still be there.
DataAssure
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Stephen Hui

Post by DataAssure »