Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VMware CBT bug KB 2090639

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Kevin,

Try the instructions posted in this blog post > http://pipitone.co/2014/02/09/reset-cbt-script/

Thanks!
kwells
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Kevin Wells

Post by kwells »

Thank you for the link. I have looked at it, and am still confused. The script listed seems to have the same lines listed in it in several places. Is the powershell ISE environment the standard windows powershell and not the powercli environment (sorry, but I am a total novice when it comes to powercli as I have never had to use it).
orangep7
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: James Serjeant

Post by orangep7 »

We have reset CBT against a number of VMs and have one quick question.

Firstly, I understand that after disabling/enabling CBT the next backup will scan the VMDKs entirely but only copy the missing deltas to the backup repository. The advice is to then run a full backup for the next job to start afresh.

However, if for whatever reason a full job wasn't possible and the next job after the CBT reset was only a differential, would the newly created CBT data still be accurate for future jobs?

I'm guessing CBT would still be accurate for future jobs, but the drawback with only running a differential following a CBT reset would be that only the latest differential could be trusted, and the rest of the chain may be inconsistent. Is this correct or does it mean that in order for CBT to be trusted you must run a Full (NOT a Diff) immediately after the CBT reset?
brandon.patton
Novice
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Brandon Patton

Post by brandon.patton »

Subscribing to thread
jai64
Influencer
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Joe Iovinelli

Post by jai64 »

Subscribing to thread
sedrum
Lurker
Full Name: scott d

Post by sedrum »