Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
bobafett
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Boba Fett

VM Backup Over WAN Possible with Enterprise Plus?

Post by bobafett »

Hi all,

Firstly, apologies for the basic question - I'm a newbie to VEEAM evaluating it with a view to offering it to our customers. I've checked the sticky FAQs post and the WAN Acceleration is the only section with no Q/As so here I am!

In summary, we're wondering if the Standard and Enterprise versions of VEEAM which don't specify 'WAN Acceleration' as a feature are capable of backing up VMs over 2MB DIA WAN if we assume that around 1TB of uncompressed data will change between backups that occur every 48 hours.

Sorry - I know there's a lot of unknowns, I'm just trying to determine if its a 'No way!', 'Possibly' or only with 'Wan Acceleration' ballpark!

Thanks

Bob
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: VM Backup Over WAN Possible with Enterprise Plus?

Post by Shestakov » 1 person likes this post

Hi Bob,
You are right, WAN accelerator is available only in Enterprise Plus edition.
Technically even without WAN acceleration it is possible to store backups offsite, reasonability depends on additional factors.
However, if you need to send 1TB over 2MByte/sec link, it will take around 139 hours = 5.5 days assuming no data transmission faults or interrupts. So, some data compression or better throughput is needed.
bobafett
Novice

Post by bobafett »

Sorry - I meant 1GB! :-)
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Even if we are talking about 1 GB of changes with unstable link, WAN accelerators with resume functionality would be a way to go.
chrisdearden
Veteran
Liked: 226 times
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Post by chrisdearden »

Vitaliy S. wrote:Even if we are talking about 1 GB of changes with unstable link, WAN accelerators with resume functionality would be a way to go.