Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
rganer
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Rodney Garner

Testing Veeam B&R v8 and I want to archive data to Amazon s3

Post by rganer »

I'm new to Veeam backup and I am trying to understand how to move my backups from my local repository to Amazon s3 using Veeam 8 that came out today. I saw that there was a cloud edition for V7 of veeam but that doesnt seem to work with the V8 trial install/license.

I need to know all the components necessary to backup hypev vms to a iscsi storage repository then copy new backups to Amazon from the san. Amazon doesnt appear as an option unders service providers in the V8 trial I installed today.

Any help would be appreciated so I can make a purchasing decision on veeam this month.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Testing Veeam B&R v8 and I want to archive data to Amazo

Post by Gostev »

For direct backup to Amazon, consider using Amazon Storage Gateway.

However, note that direct backup to public clouds has severe drawbacks comparing to Cloud Connect. The difference is pretty dramatic - simply copying existing backup filess to the cloud (and then back, before you can restore) vs. native Veeam repository in the cloud that supports all B&R functionality (including forever-incremental backups, WAN optimization, WAN acceleration, and most importantly - restore directly from cloud repository).
awellendorf
Novice
Full Name: Aaron Wellendorf

Post by awellendorf »

I'm also looking to do this but to Amazon Glacier. I had used v7 Cloud Edition and was able to send backup to AWS Glacier without the AWS Storage Gateway. Now it seems that with v8 I have to use the AWS Storage Gateway to do this. AWS Storage Gateway is an extra $125/month/Gateway. Anyone else doing this on v8 yet and if so what are your opinions?
bsoosay
Enthusiast
Full Name: Benjamin Soosay

[MERGED] : Cloud Settings - AWS

Post by bsoosay »

I'm using Veeam Backup and Replication version 7.