Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Frosty
Expert
Liked: 43 times
Full Name: Stephen Frost

Backup vs VM Copy / transactional integrity

Post by Frosty »

I'm very new to both VMware and Veeam (less than 24 hours experience of the latter!) so am looking for some more experienced heads to provide me with a little bit of guidance.

MY ENVIRONMENT
-- one (1) VMware server running vSphere 4.0 which has four (4) guest Windows Server O/S running on it
-- two (2) stand-alone Windows Servers
-- a small 4TB SAN attached to one of the Windows servers (but not to the VMware server)
-- I intend to use 1TB portable USB HDDs for backup/recovery storage
-- we have a DR site being built which will have two small VMware servers running ESXi Free

We are in the early stages of a gradual migration to VMware. By this time next year I expect to have a 2nd VMware vSphere server in place and we will then have virtualised our remaining stand-alone servers. Once we have done that, and have rebuilt the SAN to work with both VMware servers, things will be much better. But I need some backup/recovery solutions in place in the meantime as we transition.

Since I understand that Veeam Backup v4.1 will not work with ESXi Free edition, I have been looking instead at using the VM Copy function instead of the Backup functionality. This seems to provide me with what I need from a DR perspective: namely, the ability to restore a set of VMware virtual disk images and boot them.

I just have a few questions:
(1) what downside (if any) should I expect from relying on VM Copy instead of Backup?
(2) are the virtual disk copies made with VSS transactional integrity, just the same as with the Backup function?
(3) ran a test last night to VM Copy one running server (SQL06) and a directory "sql06.grv.local(112)" was created ... what is the significance of the (112) appelation? ... will this number change each time I make a copy?