Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
AlbieNorth
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Albert Gostick

Questions re WAN accelerator

Post by AlbieNorth »

Hi,

I am a relative newbie to Veeam - we have used it for a year and have backups offsite but not a lot of testing done on them to date. Our other IT guy set things up and "got things going" but now I am digging in before we start to do some testing. A few questions:

- he said we are using the WAN accelerator - it seems to me to use this that there must be a software component installed at each site (onsite and offsite are connected by a 50mb vlan). vCenter is installed offsite. It seems to me that the WAN accelerator cannot be running if there is only software installed offsite. Note: we have veeam essentials with 3 vmware hosts so it's possible we could not install veeam on both sites.

- is there a way for me to be able to tell if the WAN accelerator is indeed working. When I looked at his setup it showed the cache pointing to C:\VeeamCache but when I look in there, there are no files (so me-thinks there is no accelerator running). Or is this directory only populated during a backup session?

- was reading about how veeam helps to identify the bottleneck in the job. All our jobs seem to indicate that is is the source (99%). But the other IT guy says it is the bandwidth between our two sites (50mb on a vlan). He says you can see that this is the bottleneck while the job is running. Is there a way to confirm this (more detail some place?).

Thanks.
pawel
Enthusiast
Liked: 3 times

Re: Questions re WAN accelerator

Post by pawel »

I am new to evaluating Veeam so hopefully someone can confirm what I'm saying.