Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
sbbots
Enthusiast
Liked: 25 times
Full Name: Matt B

Feature Request - Date Filter for Files-to-Tape

Post by sbbots » 1 person likes this post

For Files-to-Tape jobs; An additional filter to choose the "cut off" date for copying files. The filter would make it possible to copy to tape only files created within the past X number of days without the need for PowerShell scripting. For example, this would be extremely useful for copying recent VBK files out of a repository (as opposed to ALL VBK files in the repository).

I am not a software engineer nor a Photoshop expert, so forgive my rudimentary idea for the filter below. I am just trying to convey where the filter would be extremely useful.

Please show us loyal Standard Version users some love Veeam! :)
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Feature Request - Date Filter for Files-to-Tape

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Matt,
Thank you for describing your idea in such details, that is amazing! To tell you the truth, relying on a file modification date, which is handled by the OS and could be changed by any application in the system, feels scary. However, in correlation with file masks that might work. Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts, I will discuss it with the team for sure.
TommyB
Expert
Liked: 16 times
Full Name: Thomas Braun

Post by TommyB »

d.popov wrote:Hello Matt,
Thank you for describing your idea in such details, that is amazing! To tell you the truth, relying on a file modification date, which is handled by the OS and could be changed by any application in the system, feels scary.
Hmmm, I can't see anything "scary"... that's what the file modification date is made for... to be changed by any application in the system :wink: