Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Dave338
Enthusiast
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: David

network traffic using Direct SAN

Post by Dave338 »

Hello, I am configuring a new veeam BR v8 server, and I see the same behavior. Previously I had been using several versions of Backup Exec, so I'm new to Veeam world.
This is my config:

Physical server HP Gen8 with 4 core CPU, and 12GB RAM, with dual HBA connected to the SAN (EVA P6550) at 4Gbps
Windows 2012 R2 with dedup enabled on datastore.
I use Direct SAn access, and have disabled failover to network, so direct SAN should be the only option.
VMWare datastores are presented to the veeam server and I see them on disk admin, but I have them "offline" so win cannot touch any data, is this correct??

When backing up, I see no ethernet traffic on windows task manager, but if I go to the Resource Monitor, I see network traffic over 1gbps towards local machine (server name shown). I don't know how to verify that is using DSAN mode, I don't see it at job statiscs... only see that at every server log for virtual disks... is that correct???

27/01/2015 13:07:38 :: Using backup proxy VMware Backup Proxy for disk Hard disk 1 [san]

Anyone has an idea if this is normal or not???
Dave338
Enthusiast

Re: network traffic using Direct SAN

Post by Dave338 »

Hello again.

It seems nobody is using Direct SAN or this behavior is not very common :) :) :)

I've been testing with the new performance parameter in v8-patch1, that one

Code: Select all

Performance enhancements