Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Data Platform
EzE
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Eric H

Guest VM memory consumed

Post by EzE »

I am new to VEEAM One, so maybe I'm overlooking something.

I have a 2008R2 Hyper-V cluster running a mix of 2008-2012R2 Guest VMs. We are not using Dynamic memory, and I was hoping that VEEAM One could give me some stats that show memory usage within the Guest OS and how much benefit we would gain by moving to Dynamic memory. This would help with our existing infrastructure and help me with capacity planning for a new 2012R2 cluster coming soon. However, all of the graphs seem to show the memory that has been allocated to the VM, not what it is using. This means that my graphs show no changes over time (straight line - unless we add or remove a VM). It seems this may be a limitation of Hyper-V - can someone please confirm? Are there any methods or tools someone can recommend to evaluate existing memory usage (without manually logging into each machine) and whether Dynamic memory could be of benefit?

Thanks in advance!
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Guest VM memory consumed

Post by Shestakov »

Hello Eric and welcome to the forum!

You are right, it`s difficult to measure guest OS memory for VMs using static memory, because Hyper-V`s Performance Monitor provides Memory Demand and Current Pressure metrics always equal to 0 for VMs with static memory. I`m not sure if there are special tools to monitor it.
Using static memory is not a best practice and respective VMs are considered as over-sized. What is your reason of not using Dynamic Memory?
Thanks.
EzE
Influencer

Post by EzE »