Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
crazycommando
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Reilly

3par and Periodic Backups

Post by crazycommando »

We have moved our Storage over to 3par and successfully using the San snapshot integration. Very happy with the results. Using version 8 HF1.

Now that's done, I'm interested in revisiting the backup frequency. Before with our large number of backup jobs they were scheduled to run once a day at different times and now that VMware snapshots are less of a concern, I would like to move to periodic backups.

Does anyone have any recommendations, experiences anyone would mind sharing.
e.g
-For the regular daily backups, change to periodically say every 2 hours & adjust the retention period so it matches the our previous 30 days.
-I'm new to 3par but understand we can compliment our backup routine with 3par scheduled snapshots that we can access from Veeam
-Risks, although the VMware snapshot gets removed as soon as its created, when things go sideways you end up with loads of VMware snapshots on top of each other. Anything Veeam can do to mitigate this scenario?
-Any other tips much appreciated.

Many thanks.
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: 3par and Periodic Backups

Post by dellock6 »

Fine configurations are up to your desired/required RTO and RPO, but one suggestion we usually explain to BfSS users is the possibility to run storage snapshots during the day: so crash consistent, thus depending on the application running in the VMs, you choose which VMs can be protected in this way. Then, once a day, a proper backup running Veeam and saving VMs outside of 3Par.
In this way, during production hours you have zero impact on backup activities, and if anything happens to a VM you can use VESS to restore directly from 3Par snapshots.
The second layer of protection is made with Veeam backups.