Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
mohammada
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Mohammad Alam

Replication is Slow

Post by mohammada »

Hi Guys
We have just purchased Veeam Replication and Backup.The speed with Trial Version was ok though it was running on SAN storage .
Now we are implementing on our UAT environment and only getting 2-3/MB speed while replication . Here is my scenario.

Two IOMEGA ISCSI connected with separate HP Procurve Gigabit Switch with ESX Host.
Host - ESX - 4.0.0

Any reason why ? Can someone help me out .
Mohammad
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Replication is Slow

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Mohammad,

Could you please clarify whether you have used the same job modes for your production and test environment? Do you see reduced perfomance for the same VMs? I'm not a storage expert but could your source and target storage be one of the reasons for slow perfomance rates?

Thank you!
antivir
Enthusiast
Full Name: Andrew

Post by antivir »

I have 500 Gb VM.
Virtual Appliance Mode.
At the beginning of replication the speed is about 50 Mb/sec (first 100 Gb), then slower, slower, slower... In the middle the speed is about 20 Mb/sec, and at the and is about 18 Mb/sec.
VM has 452 Gb Used Space.
What is the problem?
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Andrew,

Could the issue be connected to your destination storage that causes such a low speed at the end of the job? Have you tried changing your target? Do you see any changes after that?
mohammada
Influencer

Post by mohammada »

Hi Vitality
I have upgraded the Vmware Hardware to 7 and now all windows VM is having good speed .. say 80-120MB/s some time even 200MB/s :wink:
But I dont have any luck with Linux VM though I have upgraded the Hardware . Vmware tools is updated as well and still the same max 4MB/s speed . I have upgraded the VMXNET3 as well .