Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
aman4God
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Stanton Cole

What throughput speeds should I expect?

Post by aman4God »

I am new to Veeam, but not to backup. I have a UCS environment with 25 ESX hosts running 5.5U2, on two separate UCS stacks. Both Stacks have (4) 10Gb connections to a 5596 nexus. We have a VMAX 20k with (8) 8Gb FC assigned to the storage group for UCS in the same NX switch. I also have a CS500 FC Nimble with (4) 8Gb FC in the same switch for my Repositories. I currently have 4 repositories configured and connected to 4 individual Win2012 servers. When I run backups, I can't get more than an aggregate of 250 - 260 MB/s for all the backups. The backup jobs all say the source is the bottleneck. Everything is internal to the same VM environment and interconnected within UCS at 10Gb. I feel like I should be able to get way more than 250MB/s for the entire environment considering the backend of the systems. Any help would be appreciated. I am running v8 with the latest patch.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: What throughput speeds should I expect?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

What transport mode do you use for your backup jobs, direct SAN access or network?
aman4God
Enthusiast

Post by aman4God »

It is set to automatic, but runs in appliance mode most of the time. There are a couple of jobs that report dropping to Network mode, but from what I can tell network mode is providing better throughput even though according to Veeam documentation Network mode is not preferred. We also don't have any physical proxies or repositories so we can't run in SAN mode from what I understand.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management

Post by Vitaliy S. »