Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
remko.de.koning
Enthusiast
Liked: 18 times
Full Name: Remko de Koning

How to backup Oracle / MySQL

Post by remko.de.koning »

Hi guys,

I am looking for some help on how to safely backup an Oracle Database and MySQL database in our Server 2012 R2 HyperV environment.
I would like to start with saying that I am not a database expert! These databases have been installed by the Vendor of an application and till now we have simply been taking regular Veaam backups of these servers.
Today I learned that special treatment is required for non VSS aware applications like Oracle 9i or 10g and MySQL databases.
For the MySQL database I managed to created "Dumps" via a scheduled task periodically so that I have at least something.
Bits and pieces about this subject can be found via Google but for me it is almost impossible to get a complete picture.
There is for example a great whitepaper on how to backup MySQL on a Linux box running on a VMWare host. However, how does one backup a MySQL server running on Windows on a Hyper-V infrastructure?
I am really looking for a step-by-step plan on how to accomplish these two tasks. Keep in mind that I am a system administrator and not a DBA.
I have found the option to trigger Pre-Freeze and Post-thaw scripts in the Application-Aware Processing Options of the Veeam Backup Job. Are there any example scripts on how to do this.
What do I need to put where?

Goals:
[*]Backup MySQL on a Windows Machine (2008 R2) on a Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V Host
[*]Backup Oracle 10g on a Windows Machine (2008 R2) on a Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V Host

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

As a side note:
I have tested a restore of a MySQL database on a windows server via SureBackup and it seems to be okay but from what I am reading I guess I am just lucky.

Thanks for any thoughts you might have and your patience with me :wink:
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin