Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
Enthusiast
Liked: 6 times
Full Name: qq

Job Copy to Tape

Post by 20100 »

Hi

I am new to Veeam and I have troubles to achieve a tape copy from a backup job.

Our current backup solution (phased out and replaced with Veeam), does a (perpetual) incremental backup to disk, which is automatically followed by a consolidation onto a full backup to disk, which is automatically followed by a tape copy of the full backup. So every day, we get a full backup on tape to be taken off site. Note the retention dates for both backup sets on disk and tape are different.

I am trying to reproduce this with Veeam, but have not quite managed it.
Backup to disk is OK. It is set as (perpetual) incremental with 2 weeks of retention
I have setup a Tape Pool with retention of 1 week.
When I tried to setup a Tape Copy Job, there is no such option. Either it is a Tape Backup, either it is a Backup Copy, but in the latest case, you cannot pick a Tape Pool as the destination.

Reading through the forum, it looks like I need to use the "Configure Secondary destination for this job"
However, when I tick this option, it asks me first to create a Tape Job which I did
When I created the Tape job for Media Pool, there is Full Backup and Incremental Backup. Do I need to tick the "Process incremental backup files"?
I did not think I need to, but not 100% sure or/and do I need to change first the Disk backup from incremental to reverse incremental?

I did not tick the "Run the job automatically", as there is no way to know for sure at what time the backup onto disk will finish.

However, when I did performed the backup onto disk, no tape copy took place after the backup to disk.

What is exactly the way to achieve this?

Thanks in advance

Anyway,
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Job Copy to Tape

Post by foggy »