PowerShell script exchange
dcd62
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times

Selecting a datastore in the script

Post by dcd62 »

I'm very new to Powershell scripting and this is my project using PS. I found a script online to automate the creation of replication jobs.
I made changes to the script so I can import a csv file that lists the VM name, source/dest vCenter server, destination ESX host and start time for the initial replication. Many of the vm's will be moving to the same cluster. I added these lines to query the ESX host shared luns, sort them by freespace and set $Datastore to the lun with the most free space..

This works fine but my problem is that the jobs won't actually start until the evening so when I run the script to schedule the jobs, it will always pick the one lun with the most freespace and it doesn't take into consideration what has been scheduled for that night. I'm trying to automate as many steps as possible and would rather not have to enter each datastore name in the csv.
Any ideas on how to handle this? What do other folks do?

$DRClusterMaxSize = Get-VBRServer -Name $DRHost | Find-VBRViDatastore | Where {($_.Name -notlike $LUNEXCL1 -and $_.Name -notlike $LUNEXCL2 -and $_.Name -notlike $LUNEXCL3)} | Sort-Object FreeSpace -descending

$Datastore = $DRClusterMaxSize.Name[0]
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Selecting a datastore in the script

Post by veremin »

This works fine but my problem is that the jobs won't actually start until the evening so when I run the script to schedule the jobs, it will always pick the one lun with the most freespace and it doesn't take into consideration what has been scheduled for that night.
Not sure whether I got your question correctly. Not only do you want to pick a datastore with the most free space on it, but also you're willing to make script project how much space will be consumed by upcoming jobs and pick up the appropriate datastore in accordance, right?
dcd62
Enthusiast