Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
H in OH
Influencer
Liked: never

How to activate freeze/thaw scripts

Post by H in OH »

Hello,

Sorry if this may seem like a complete noob question, but I am now stuck with some services that have to be manually set on a Windows 2008 R2 VM before and after each backup. I found the threads discussing using VMware's pre-freeze and post-thaw scripts, and some examples. How do you get the Veeam backup process to trigger the VMware freeze and thaw scripts?

I am using Veeam Backup 4.1.1 in Windows 7 for the backup server, and ESXi 4.0u1 for the VM host. The Veeam backup job is configured to use the vStorage API in SAN mode. Based on the other posts on this forum, here is what I have tried so far: I placed a simple "vcb.bat" test script in the backupScripts.d folder under VMware Tools in the VM. In the Veeam backup job settings, "Enable VMware tools quiescence" is checked, and "Enable Veeam VSS integration" is not checked. As far as I can tell, the script is not running at all.

Would someone who is running the VMware freeze/thaw scripts please tell me how you have the Veeam backup process trigger the VMware scripts?

Thanks.
---H
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: How to activate freeze/thaw scripts

Post by Gostev »

H in OH wrote:In the Veeam backup job settings, "Enable VMware tools quiescence" is checked, and "Enable Veeam VSS integration" is not checked. As far as I can tell, the script is not running at all.
These settings are perfectly correct for what you are trying to achieve.

What is the OS version for the VM you are backing up?
I am guessing it is Windows 2000? (otherwise you would not need to use scripts)

In that case, here is the answer:
Prefreeze and postthaw scripts not fired
H in OH
Influencer

Post by H in OH »

Gostev wrote:What is the OS version for the VM you are backing up?
I am guessing it is Windows 2000? (otherwise you would not need to use scripts)